Four Kammas: 1 definition


Four Kammas means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Theravada (major branch of Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Four Kammas in Theravada glossary
Source: Buddhist Information: A Discourse on Paticcasamuppada

Kamma is of four kinds, according to the way in which it bears fruit.

  1. garukamma - weighty kamma,
  2. bahula or acinnaka kamma - habitual kamma,
  3. asanna kamma - death proximate kamma and
  4. /katatta kamma - stored up kamma.
context information

Theravāda is a major branch of Buddhism having the the Pali canon (tipitaka) as their canonical literature, which includes the vinaya-pitaka (monastic rules), the sutta-pitaka (Buddhist sermons) and the abhidhamma-pitaka (philosophy and psychology).

Discover the meaning of four kammas in the context of Theravada from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: