by Nina van Gorkom | 1999 | 122,172 words

No description available...

Appendix 2 - Appendix To Chapter 5

Cetana as a link in the "Dependant Origination" is called abhissankhara There are three kinds of abhissankhara.

  1. meritorious kamma-formations (punnabhisankhara)[1]
  2. demeritorious kamma-formations (apunn abhisankhara)
  3. imperturbable kamma-formations (anenjabhisankhara)

Meritorious kamma-formations are the cetanas which accompany the eight kamma kusala cittas or maha-kusala cittas (kusala cittas of the sense-sphere)[2], and the five rupavacara kusala cittas (rupa-jhacittas)[3].

Demeritorious kamma-formations are the cetanas which accompany the twelve akusala cittas, which are: eight lobha mula-cittas, two dosa-mula-cittas and two moha-mula-cittas.

Imperturbable kamma-formations are the cetanas which accompany the four arupavacara kusala cittas (arupa-jhanacittas) The meritorious kamma-formations and the demeritorious kamma formation which produce rebirth-consciousness also produce rupa. The imperturbable kamma-formations do not produce rupa. Those who cultivate arupa-jhana have realized the disadvantages of rupa. The arupavacara kusala cittas which ate very tranquil, very refined produce rebirth-consciousness in the relevant arupa-brahma planes where there is no rupa and no sense-Impressions. There are four arupa-brahma planes corresponding to the four stages of arupa jhana.

These three classes of kamma-formations are a link in the Dependent Origination.

July 1, 2001

Footnotes and references:


Punna means merit, kusala.


Abhidhamma in Daily Life Chapter 10.


Abhidhamma in Daily Life Chapter 22.

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: