Bhagavata Cosmology

author: Pavaneshwar Das
edition: 2018, Tulsi Books
pages: 340
language: English
ISBN-10: 9381283591
ISBN-13: 9789381283592
Topic: Vaishnavism

Summary: Bhagavata cosmology consolidates and summarizes the descriptions of universal geography presented in Srimad Bhagavatam (Bhagavata Purana), Bhugola varnanam Surya-siddhanta, Ramayana, Mahabharata, Visnu Purana (Vishnupurana), Vayu Purana and other books. This book reconciles this scriptural understanding and the modern understanding by drawing parallels between them.

Buy now with free shipping!


 This book systematically presents the process and purpose of the creation of universe and the variety of living entities pupolating it. It briefly outlines the structure of the universe, with its horizontal and vertical divisions, as presented in the bhagavata Purana. The 2D and 3D pictorial representations, flow charts and summary tables in this book reveal the working of the universe by explaining the passing of day and night, the phases of the moon, the passing of seasons and the eclipses and many more.

Available pages:


Contents of this online book (index):

The full text of the Bhagavata Cosmology in English can be quickly summarized in the following table of contents. Becaue these pages are not available to read online, I would recommend you buy the book.

1 The Beginning 25

2 Mandala 45
King Priyavrata divides the Bhu-mandala into Seven Islands 46
Jambudvipa, InnermostIsland of Bhu-mandalamandala 54
Ilavrta-varsa and varsa and Sumeru Mountain 58
Flow of the River Ganga through jambudvipa 65
Eight Heavenly Varsas Vs. Bharata-varsa 69
Qualities of Bharata-varsa 75
Structurse of Bharata-varsa 83
Remaining Six Island of the Bhu-Mandala 90
The Structure of the Universe as per "Bhugola Varnanam" 104
The Million Dollar Question 128

3 Fourteen Planetary Systems 147
The Sun 148
The Moon 152
The Constellations or Naksatras 158
Other Planets below Druhuva-Loka 159
The Sisumara Planetary Systems 164
Planets above Dhruva-Loka 168
Vertical Structure of the Universe as per "Bhugola Varnanam" 173
Bhuvar-loka - Planets below Sun and above Earth 179
Bila Svarga - Subterranean Heavenly Planets 182
Places below Patala - Lord Ananta and Hellish Planets 187

4 The Vedic Planetarium 197
The Zodiac Belt or the Kalacakra-gata 198
Daily Movement of the Sun through the Zodiac Belt 205
Yearly Movement of the sun w.r.t. the time-wheel., 211
Change in the Phases of the Moon 223
Movements of the Other Planets 224
Description of Indian Traditional Calendar 236

5 Seasons and Eclipses 265
Uttarayana and Daksinayana Movements of the Sun 265
Change in Seasons and Day-Night Distribution 282
The Solar and Lunar Eclipses 286

6 Reconciliation 293
Transition from Geocentric Theory to Heliocentric Theory 293
An Overview of the Solar System 298
Explanation from the Srimad Bhagavatam 313
The orbit of the earth and the Axial Tilt 316
Explanation as per Srimad Bhagavatam 324

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: