Jataka Parijata (three volumes)

author: V. S. Sastri
edition: 2004
pages: 1078
language: English
ISBN-10: 8189230650
Topic: Jyotisha

Summary: This is the English translation of the Jataka Parijata in three volumes by V. Subramanya Sastri. It is an important work dealing with Hindu astrology (jyotisha) and is considered a condensation of the voluminous Horas of Garga, Parasara and others.

This edition contains the Sanskrit Text, English Translation and explanatory notes. It can also be spelled as Jātaka Pārijāta (जातक पारिजात)

Buy now with free shipping!


It is a well known authoritative treatise on Hindu Astrology, that hardly needs any introduction. It has been studied as a text book on the subject in all parts of the country for nearly eight centuries. It is a prescribed text book of study in oriental examinations on Jyotisha. It’s importance lies in the fact that it is a condensation of the voluminous Horas of Garga, Parasara and others, many of which are not available completely now and the later works like Brihat Jataka Saravali etc., and presents all that is essential and valuable in them Judiciously brought together. Sections of Yogas, Ayurdaya, Bhavaphala Kalachakra Dasa are simply master-pieces, a study of which no student of Astrology should miss.

Available pages:


Contents of this online book (index):

The full text of the Jataka Parijata (three volumes) in English can be quickly summarized in the following table of contents. Becaue these pages are not available to read online, I would recommend you buy the book.

Chapter I: The Properties of Signs [link]
Chapter II: Nature of the Planets and their properties [link]
Chapter III: Manifold Birth etc. [link]
Chapter IV: Death incidental to childhood [link]
Chapter V: Length of life [link]
Chapter V: Exit form the world [link]
Chapter VI: Marring of Horoscope [link]
Chapter VII: On Raja yogas or Planetary Conjunctions; leading to kingship [link]
Chapter VIII: On Conjunctions of two or more Planets [link]
Chapter IX: The Effect of Gulika, year etc [link]
Chapter X: Ashtakvarga [link]
Chapter XI: The effects of the and the 2nd Bhavas [link]
Chapter XII: The effects of the 3rd and the 4th Bhavas [link]
Chapter XIII: The effects of the 5th and the 6th Bhavas [link]
Chapter XIV: The effects of the 7th, the 8th and the 9th Bhavas [link]
Chapter XV: The effects of the 10th, the 11th and the 12th Bhavas [link]
Chapter XVI: Female Horoscopy [link]
Chapter XVII: Kalchakra [link]
Chapter XVIII: Dasas [link]

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: