The Chronicle of The Kings of Norway

by Snorri Sturlson | c.1179-1241 | 320,198 words

The "Heimskringla" of Snorri Sturlason is a collection of sagas concerning the various rulers of Norway, from about A.D. 850 to the year A.D. 1177....

Chapter VI - King Olaf Trygvason's Saga

- Sub-Contents: (+ / -)

Hitherto the narrative has been more or less fragmentary. With Olaf Trygvason's Saga reliable history begins, and the narration is full and connected. The story of Hakon the earl is incorporated in this saga.

Accounts of Olaf Trygvason may be found in

  • Od the Monk's legendary saga,
  • in parts of "Agrip",
  • "Historia Norvegiae",
  • and in Thjodrek.

Icelandic works on this epoch are:

  • "Egla",
  • "Eyrbyggja",
  • "Finboga",
  • "Floamanna",
  • "Faereyinga",
  • "Hallfredar Saga",
  • "Havardar Saga",
  • "Are's Islendinga-bok",
  • "Kristni Saga",
  • "Laxdaela",
  • "Ljosvetninga",
  • "Njala",
  • "Orkneyinga",
  • "Viga Glums Saga",
  • and "Viga Styrs Saga".

The skalds quoted are:

  • Glum Geirason,
  • Eyvind Finson,
  • Skaldaspiller,
  • Einar Skalaglam,
  • Tind Halkelson,
  • Eyjolf Dadaskald,
  • Hallarstein,
  • Halfred Vandraedaskald,
  • Haldor Ukristne,
  • Skule Thorsteinson,
  • and Thord Kolbeinson.
Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: