Trishashti Shalaka Purusha Caritra

by Helen M. Johnson | 1931 | 742,503 words

This page describes Future Arhats which is the ninth part of chapter XIII of the English translation of the Mahavira-caritra, contained within the “Trishashti Shalaka Purusha Caritra”: a massive Jain narrative relgious text composed by Hemacandra in the 12th century. Mahavira in jainism is the twenty-fourth Tirthankara (Jina) and one of the 63 illustrious beings or worthy persons.

Duḥṣamā having passed, Śreṇika’s soul, the son of King Sammuci by his chief-queen Bhadrā in the great city Śatadvāra, will become the first Tīrthakṛt, named Padmanābha, equal to me in birth, size, et cetera. Thereafter there will be Jineśvaras as before, all these in succession equal to former Arhats in reverse order. Of these Śreṇika’s soul will be the Jineśvara Padmanābha; the soul of Supārśva will be the second, Blessed Śūradeva; the soul of Poṭṭila will be the third excellent Jina, Supārśva; the soul of Dṛḍhāyus will be the fourth Tīrthanātha, Svayamprabhu; the soul of Kārtika will be the fifth, Sarvānubhūti; the soul of Śaṅkha will be sixth, Devaśruta by name; the soul of Nanda will be the seventh Jinendra, named Udaya; Sunanda’s soul will be the eight Arhat, Peḍhāla by name; Kekasī’s soul will be the ninth Jinendra, Poṭṭila; Reyali’s soul will be the tenth Jineśvara, Śatakīrti; Satyaki’s soul will be the eleventh Arhat, Suvrata; the soul of Śārṅgin Kṛṣṇa will be the twelfth Arhat, Amama; Baladeva’s soul will be the thirteenth Arhat, Niṣkaṣāya; Rohiṇī’s soul will be the fourteenth Jinendra, Niṣpulāka; Sulasā’s soul will be the fifteenth Jina, Nirmama; Revatī’s soul will be the sixteenth, named Citragupta; Gavāli’s soul will be the seventeenth Jina, Samādhi; Gārgali’s soul will be the eighteenth Arhat, Saṃvara; Dvīpāyana’s soul will be the nineteenth Arhat, Yaśodhara; Karṇa’s soul will be the twentieth Jineśvara, Vijaya; the one who was Nārada before will be the twenty-first Jina, Malla; the soul of Ambaḍa will be the twenty-second Tīrthakṛt, Deva; the soul of Dvāramada will be the twenty-third, Anantavīrya; Svāti’s soul will be the twenty-fourth Tīrthakṛt, Bhadrakṛt.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: