Trishashti Shalaka Purusha Caritra

by Helen M. Johnson | 1931 | 742,503 words

This page describes Padma’s moksha (emancipation) which is the eighth part of chapter VIII of the English translation of the Shri Mahapadma-cakravartin-caritra, contained within the “Trishashti Shalaka Purusha Caritra”: a massive Jain narrative relgious text composed by Hemacandra in the 12th century. Shri Mahapadma-cakravartin in jainism is one of the 63 illustrious beings or worthy persons.

Part 8: Padma’s mokṣa (emancipation)

Padma also, afraid of existence, abandoned his kingdom like straw and became a mendicant at the lotus-feet of a noble guru. Five hundred years as prince, the same as governor, three hundred in conquest, eighteen thousand and seven hundred as cakrabhṛt, ten thousand in the vow—so Cakrabhṛt Padma lived for thirty thousand years. After he had practiced severe penance fair with various and numerous special vows, and had acquired the wealth of omniscience by the destruction of the ghātikarmas, Padma went to the place which is the home of eternal delight.

In this section two who were both Jinas and cakrins, two Jinas, two cakrins, two Rāmas, two Haris (Vāsudeva), two Pratiharis have been celebrated. Fourteen[1] noble illustrious persons have the quarters of the sky pervaded by their fame. May this noble conduct of theirs be the guest of the ears of the world.

Footnotes and references:


I.e., in making up the total of 63, the ones who were both Cakrins and Jinas are counted twice. Thus the 12 persons whose biographies are given in this parvan count as 14.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: