Trishashti Shalaka Purusha Caritra

by Helen M. Johnson | 1931 | 742,503 words

This page describes Tenth incarnation as a Samanika which is the eighteenth part of chapter I of the English translation of the Adisvara-caritra, contained within the “Trishashti Shalaka Purusha Caritra”: a massive Jain narrative relgious text composed by Hemacandra in the 12th century. Adisvara (or Rishabha) in jainism is the first Tirthankara (Jina) and one of the 63 illustrious beings or worthy persons.

Part 18: Tenth incarnation as a Sāmānika

The six became Śakrasāmānikas in the twelfth heaven named Acyuta. For such penance does not bear ordinary fruit. They fell after completing a life of twenty-two sāgaropamas.[1] For there is always falling until mokṣa is attained.

Footnotes and references:


Ten crores of palyopamas make a sāgaropama.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: