Tattvartha Sutra (with commentary)

by Vijay K. Jain | 2018 | 130,587 words | ISBN-10: 8193272625 | ISBN-13: 9788193272626

This page describes classification of influx (asrava) which is verse 6.4 of the English translation of the Tattvartha Sutra which represents the essentials of Jainism and Jain dharma and deals with the basics on Karma, Cosmology, Ethics, Celestial beings and Liberation. The Tattvarthasutra is authorative among both Digambara and Shvetambara. This is verse 4 of the chapter Influx of Karmas and includes an extensive commentary.

Verse 6.4 - Classification of influx (āsrava)

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration and English translation of Tattvartha sūtra 6.4:

सकषायाकषाययोः साम्परायिकर्यापथयोः ॥ ६.४ ॥

sakaṣāyākaṣāyayoḥ sāmparāyikaryāpathayoḥ || 6.4 ||

Activity (yoga) with-passions (sakaṣāya) and without-passions (akaṣāya) causes influx (āsrava) of karmas, those that extend transmigration–sāmparāyika–and those that shorten transmigration–īryāpatha, respectively. (4)

Hindi Anvayarth:

अन्वयार्थ: [सकषायस्य साम्परायिकस्य] कषायसहित जीव के संसार के कारणरूप कर्म का आस्रव होता है और [अकषायस्य ईर्यापथस्य] कषायरहित जीव के स्थितिरहित कर्म का आस्रव होता है।

Anvayartha: [sakashayasya samparayikasya] kashayasahita jiva ke samsara ke karanarupa karma ka asrava hota hai aura [akashayasya iryapathasya] kashayarahita jiva ke sthitirahita karma ka asrava hota hai |

Explanation in English from Ācārya Pūjyapāda’s Sarvārthasiddhi:

Is this influx (āsrava) the same with regard to its effect in case of all mundane beings, or is there any distinction? The answer is given in the next sūtra.

Influx (āsrava) is different according to the originator-soul. Originator-souls are of two kinds, with-passions (sakaṣāya) and without-passions (akaṣāya). Passions are called ‘kaṣāya’–literally, decoction of red colour–since these stain the soul through influx (āsrava) of the karmic matter. The passions are anger (krodha), pride (māna), deceitfulness (māyā) and greed (lobha). The person actuated by passions is ‘sakaṣāya’ and the person free from passions is ‘akaṣāya’. Transmigration is same as ‘samparāya’. The activity (yoga), or karma, that extends transmigration is ‘sāmparāyika’. The activity (yoga), or karma, caused by vibrations, but without passions, is called ‘īryāpatha’. These are taken respectively. Influx of ‘sāmparāyika’ karmas takes place in case of persons with-passions (sakaṣāya) and who are wrong-believers (mithyādṛṣṭi). Thus, influx of ‘sāmparāyika’ karmas takes place from the first stage ‘mithyādṛṣṭi’ up to the tenth stage ‘sūkṣmasāmparāya’ of spiritual development (guṇasthāna). And influx of the ‘īryāpatha’ karmas takes place in case of saints free from passions, from the eleventh stage ‘upaśānta-kaṣāya’ till the thirteenth stage ‘sayogakevalī’. The ‘īryāpatha’ karmas do not have the power to bind with the soul.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: