Tattvartha Sutra (with commentary)

by Vijay K. Jain | 2018 | 130,587 words | ISBN-10: 8193272625 | ISBN-13: 9788193272626

This page describes lifetimes of remaining deva which is verse 4.32 of the English translation of the Tattvartha Sutra which represents the essentials of Jainism and Jain dharma and deals with the basics on Karma, Cosmology, Ethics, Celestial beings and Liberation. The Tattvarthasutra is authorative among both Digambara and Shvetambara. This is verse 32 of the chapter The Celestial Beings and includes an extensive commentary.

Verse 4.32 - Lifetimes of remaining Deva

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration and English translation of Tattvartha sūtra 4.32:

आरणाच्युतादूर्ध्वमेकैकेन नवसु ग्रैवेयकेषु विजयादिषु सर्वार्थसिद्धौ च ॥ ४.३२ ॥

āraṇācyutādūrdhvamekaikena navasu graiveyakeṣu vijayādiṣu sarvārthasiddhau ca || 4.32 ||

Above Āraṇa-Acyuta, in each of the nine graiveyaka, in nine anudiśa, in four Vijaya, etc., the maximum lifetime of deva is more and more by one sāgaropama. In Sarvārthasiddhi, it is thirty-three sāgaropama only. (32)

Hindi Anvayarth:

अन्वयार्थ: आरण और अच्युत स्वर्ग से ऊपर के नव ग्रैवेयकों में, नव अनुदिशों में, विजय इत्यादि विमानों में और सर्वार्थसिद्धि विमानों में देवों की आयु एक एक सागर अधिक है।

Anvayartha: arana aura acyuta svarga se upara ke nava graiveyakom mem, nava anudishom mem, vijaya ityadi vimanom mem aura sarvarthasiddhi vimanom mem devom ki ayu eka eka sagara adhika hai |

Explanation in English from Ācārya Pūjyapāda’s Sarvārthasiddhi:

The lifetimes of the rest are mentioned next.

‘More’ is supplied. It must be taken thus: ‘more by one and one’. Why is nine mentioned? It is in order to indicate that in each graiveyaka the lifetime is more by one sāgaropama. Otherwise, the increase in all nine graiveyaka would be only one. The word ‘ādi’ with ‘Vijaya’ denotes kinds. By this the anudiśa are included. Sarvārthasiddhi is mentioned separately as here there is no minimum. This is the purport. In the lower graiveyaka, the maximum lifetime is twenty-three sāgaropama in the first, twenty-four sāgaropama in the second, and twenty-five sāgaropama in the third. In the middle graiveyaka, the maximum lifetime is twenty-six sāgaropama in the first, twenty-seven sāgaropama in the second and twenty-eight sāgaropama in the third. In the upper graiveyaka, the maximum lifetime is twenty-nine sāgaropama in the first, thirty sāgaropama in the second and thirty-one sāgaropama in the third. In the nine anudiśa vimāna, the maximum lifetime is thirty-two sāgaropama. In Vijaya and the others, the maximum lifetime is thirty-three sāgaropama. In Sarvārthasiddhi it is fixed at thirty-three sāgaropama, with no minimum lifetime.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: