Tattvartha Sutra (with commentary)

by Vijay K. Jain | 2018 | 130,587 words | ISBN-10: 8193272625 | ISBN-13: 9788193272626

This page describes the six mountain chains which is verse 3.11 of the English translation of the Tattvartha Sutra which represents the essentials of Jainism and Jain dharma and deals with the basics on Karma, Cosmology, Ethics, Celestial beings and Liberation. The Tattvarthasutra is authorative among both Digambara and Shvetambara. This is verse 11 of the chapter The Lower World and the Middle World and includes an extensive commentary.

Verse 3.11 - The six mountain chains

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration and English translation of Tattvartha sūtra 3.11:

तद्विभाजिनः पूर्वापरायता हिमवन्महाहिमवन्निषधनील रुक्मिशिखरिणो वर्षधरपर्वताः ॥ ३.११ ॥

tadvibhājinaḥ pūrvāparāyatā himavanmahāhimavanniṣadhanīla rukmiśikhariṇo varṣadharaparvatāḥ || 3.11 ||

The six mountain chains Himavān, Mahāhimavān, Niṣadha, Nīla, Rukmī, and Śikharī, running from east to west, divide these regions. (11)

Hindi Anvayarth:

अन्वयार्थ: उन सात क्षेत्रों का विभाग करने वाले पूर्व से पश्चिम तक लम्बे 1-हिमवत्, 2-महामहिमवत्, 3-निषध, 4-नील, 5-रुक्मि और 6-शिखरिन्-ये छह वर्षधर-कुलाचल पर्वत हैं। (वर्ष क्षेत्र)

Anvayartha: una sata kshetrom ka vibhaga karane vale purva se pashcima taka lambe 1-himavat, 2-mahamahimavat, 3-nishadha, 4-nila, 5-rukmi aura 6-shikharin-ye chaha varshadhara-kulacala parvata haim | (varsha kshetra)

Explanation in English from Ācārya Pūjyapāda’s Sarvārthasiddhi:

The mountain chains have been mentioned as six. What are these and how do these run?

These mountain chains divide the Jambūdvīpa into seven regions mentioned already. These extend from east to west, touching the Lavaṇasamudra (Lavaṇoda ocean) on both sides. These names have been current from eternity and are without cause. These are called ‘varṣadhara parvata’ as these divide the land into regions. Where is Himavān, also called ‘small’ (kṣudra) Himavān? It is on the borders of Bharata and Haimavata. It is one hundred yojana in height. The maountain chain of Mahāhimavān divides the regions (kṣetra) Haimavatavarṣa and Harivarṣa. The height of Mahāhimavān is two hundred yojana. Niṣadha is in south of Videhavarṣa and north of Harivarṣa. It is four hundred yojana in height. The other three mountain chains divide the remaining regions (kṣetra). Their heights are four hundred, two hundred and one hundred yojana, respectively. The foundation of these mountains is one-fourth of the height.

The next sūtra describes their colours.

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: