Tattvartha Sutra (with commentary)

by Vijay K. Jain | 2018 | 130,587 words | ISBN-10: 8193272625 | ISBN-13: 9788193272626

This page describes the possessors of the remaining four senses which is verse 2.23 of the English translation of the Tattvartha Sutra which represents the essentials of Jainism and Jain dharma and deals with the basics on Karma, Cosmology, Ethics, Celestial beings and Liberation. The Tattvarthasutra is authorative among both Digambara and Shvetambara. This is verse 23 of the chapter Category of the Living and includes an extensive commentary.

Verse 2.23 - The possessors of the remaining four senses

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration and English translation of Tattvartha sūtra 2.23:

कृमिपिपीलिकाभ्रमरमनुष्यादीनामेकैकवृद्धानि ॥ २.२३ ॥

kṛmipipīlikābhramaramanuṣyādīnāmekaikavṛddhāni || 2.23 ||

The beings such as the worm (kṛmi), the ant (pipīlikā), the bee (bhramara) and the human (manuṣya), each, have senses one more than the preceding one. (23)

Hindi Anvayarth:

अन्वयार्थ: [कृमिपिपीलिकाभ्रमर मनुष्यादीनाम्] कृमि इत्यादि, चींटी इत्यादि, भ्रमर इत्यादि तथा मनुष्य इत्यादि के [एकैक वृद्धानि] क्रम से एक एक इन्द्रिय बढ़ती (अधिक-अधिक) है अर्थात् कृमि इत्यादि के दो, चींटी इत्यादि के तीन, भौंरा इत्यादि के चार और मनुष्य इत्यादि के पाँच इन्द्रियाँ होती हैं।

Anvayartha: [krimipipilikabhramara manushyadinam] krimi ityadi, cimti ityadi, bhramara ityadi tatha manushya ityadi ke [ekaika vriddhani] krama se eka eka indriya badha़ti (adhika-adhika) hai arthat krimi ityadi ke do, cimti ityadi ke tina, bhaumra ityadi ke cara aura manushya ityadi ke pamca indriyam hoti haim |

Explanation in English from Ācārya Pūjyapāda’s Sarvārthasiddhi:

Who are the beings that possess the other senses?

The phrase ‘eka-eka’ in the sūtra indicates successiveness. It indicates that the senses increase by one successively. The base is the sense of touch (sparśana). Creatures like the worm (kṛmi) have the sense of taste (rasanā) in addition to the sense of touch (sparśana). The ant (pipīlikā) and similar creatures possess the sense of smell (ghrāṇa) in addition to the senses of touch and taste. The bee (bhramara) and creatures of that class possess the sense of sight (cakṣu) in addition to the senses of touch, taste and smell. Man and the beings similar to him possess the sense of hearing (śrotra) in addition to the former four.

Their accomplishment is as in case of the sense of touch (sparśana), explained already. In each case, there is the fruition (udaya) of the intense, all-destructive (sarvaghāti) karmic matter of the subsequent sense or senses.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: