Bhagavati-sutra (Viyaha-pannatti)

by K. C. Lalwani | 1973 | 185,989 words

The English translation of the Bhagavati-sutra which is the fifth Jaina Agama (canonical literature). It is a large encyclopedic work in the form of a dialogue where Mahavira replies to various question. The present form of the Sutra dates to the fifth century A.D. Abhayadeva Suri wrote a vritti (commentary) on the Bhagavati in A.D. 1071. In his J...

Part 5 - Nāga-king Dharaṇendra

Bhante! Addressing thus, the second Gautama, monk Agnibhūti, paid homage and obeisance to Śramaṇa Bhagavān Mahāvīra, and having paid homage and obeisance, made the following submission:

Q. 9. Vairocanendra Bali, the king of the Vairocanas, is in possession of a great fortune,...till a great power to transform. Now, Bhante, how much is the fortune of Dharaṇa, the Indra of the Nāgakumāras, their king, great is his power to transform?

A. 9. Gautama! Dharaṇa, the Indra of the Nāgakumaras, their king, is in possession of a great fortune,...till he exercises suzereinty over 44,00,000 bhavana-abodes, 6,000 Sāmānika gods, 33 Trāyas-triṃśaka gods, 4 Lokapālas, 6 principal consorts with their families, 3 assemblies, a seven-fold army, 7 commanders, 24,000 body-guard gods and many other,...till he reigns over them. He possesses a great power to transform,...till like a lass held by the hand by a young man,...till can fill up the whole isle named Jambu-dvīpa,...till a limited number of seas and a limited number of isles, with many Nāgakumāra gods and goddesses,...nor will ever give effect to. About Sāmānika gods, Trāyas-triṃśaka gods, Lokapālas, principal consorts,...they are as those of Camara; and so about the great fortune of Dharaṇa, the king of the Nāgakumāras,...the same as that of Camara, the difference being that a limited number, of seas and a limited number of isles are to be stated (in the present case), (and the description is to be repeated)...till Stanitakumāras, Vāṇavyantaras, Jyotiṣkas, difference being that about all in the south, (questions) were asked by monk Agnibhūti, and about all in the north, by monk Vāyubhūti5.

Notes (based on commentary of Abhayadeva Sūri):

5. What has been said about Dharaṇendra has to be repeated about all the Bhavanapati Indras till Mahāghoṣa. The following are the Indras of the Bhavanapatis:

South—Camara, Dharaṇa, Veṇudeva, Harikānta, Agniśikha, Pūrṇa, Jalakānta, Amita, Vilamba (Vileva) and Ghoṣa.

North—Bali, Bhūtānanda, Veṇudāli, Harissaha, Agnimāṇava, Vaśiṣṭa, Jalaprabha, Amitavāhana, Prabhañjana and Mahāghoṣa.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: