Bhagavati-sutra (Viyaha-pannatti)

by K. C. Lalwani | 1973 | 185,989 words

The English translation of the Bhagavati-sutra which is the fifth Jaina Agama (canonical literature). It is a large encyclopedic work in the form of a dialogue where Mahavira replies to various question. The present form of the Sutra dates to the fifth century A.D. Abhayadeva Suri wrote a vritti (commentary) on the Bhagavati in A.D. 1071. In his J...

Chapter 2: On samudghāta

Q. 19. Bhante! How many have been stated to be the samudghātas18?

A. 19. Gautama! Samudghātas have been stated to be seven, which are, vedanā-samudghāta, etc, on which refer to section on ‘Samudghāta’' (in the Paṇṇavaṇā Sūtra). (They are all) to be stated except the chadmastha-samudghāta,...till the Vaimānikas. (Something), more or less, needs be added on kasāya-samudghāta.

Q. 20. Bhante! Does kevalī-samudghāta of high-souled monks...till lasts for an ever-extending future?

A. 20. Refer to section on ‘Samudghāta’.

Chapter two ends.

Notes (based on commentary of Abhayadeva Sūri):

18. The soul is tied up with pleasure and pain, etc. When, by a conscious effort, the soul takes dormant vedanīya and other karmas to a stage of fructification and throws them out, the process is called samudghāta. A man may die either after performing a samudghāta or even before it.

Seven types of samudghātas have been stated as follows:

  1. vedanā samudghāta of vedanīya karma,
  2. kaṣāya samudghāta of mohanīya karma,
  3. māraṇāntika samudghāta of āyu karma,
  4. vaikriya samudghāta of the fluid body,
  5. taijas samudghāta of the caloric body,
  6. āhāraka samudghāta of the assimilative body,
  7. kevalī samudghāta of vedanīya karma, name and line.

The first three take place in case of earth-bodies, water-bodies, fire-bodies and flora-bodies, two-organ beings, three-organ beings and four-organ beings. The first four are relevant of the air-bodies and the infernal beings. The first five are relevant of the celestial beings and the five-organ animals. Human beings alone have all the seven, of which ordinary beings with lapse have six and the last one is relevant only of the omniscient beings.


Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: