Bhaktavijaya: Stories of Indian Saints

by Justin E. Abbott | 1933

This is the English translation of Bhaktavijaya which is a Marathi poem written by Mahipati in 40,000 lines. The text documents the legends of Indian saints from various backgrounds and extensively covers figures like Ekanath, Tukaram, and Ramadasa, highlighting their contributions to scholarship, philosophy, poetry, and social reform. The Bhaktavi...

14.13: Krishna’s secrets revealed to Rukmini

Just then Rukmini came to the bed on which the Holder of the disk (Krishna) was lying and worshipped Him.

196. With reverence she placed her head on His feet, and said to Him, ‘O Lord of Pandhari, tell me what You like above everything else.

197. O Lover of His bhaktas, Lord of Vaikunth [Vaikuntha] (heaven), remove this anxious doubt from me. Your mind is not where the eight forms of yoga[1] are through which the Yogis obtain their salvation.

198. Where the Yogi sits in contemplation, there Your mind does not take pleasure. You have no love for Vaikunth [Vaikuntha] (heaven), This I clearly recognize.

199. Your mind has no fondness for the happiness and enjoyments of heaven. Your mind is always depressed. Tell me why this is so.

200. In giving final deliverance to the Yogis, You have absorbed them into that which is without qualities, and I know of no one closer to You than they.

201. Your four-faced son (Brahmadev [Brahmadeva]) worships You in His wise way. And the four Vedas and the eighteen Puranas describe Your attributes.

202. But unable to express them fully, they say, “It is not this. It is not that.” The question is discussed in the six Shastras, but your incomparable reputation is unknown to them.’

203. Hearing Rukmini say this, the Lord of the heart said to her, ‘You call yourself a wise woman, but you do not know the secret of My heart.

204. Now I will tell you the secret of My heart, that in body, speech and mind, dear Nama is for ever in My thoughts.

205. I tell you these secrets of My heart today. It is they whom I love, these pious, dear bhaktas.

206. I am the formless One, One -without attributes, and yet for the purpose of My bhaktas I have come, assuming form and name.

207. My soul loves My bhaktas. My bhaktas are the resting-places of the wise. Know this that the bhaktas are the storehouse of My love.

208. Know well that My bhaktas are the ornaments of My good fortune. The bhaktas are the treasure-house of My goodness. I am always subject to them.

209. The bhaktas are My victory and praiseworthy deeds. They are My happiness. When I meet them they provide all the desires of My heart.

210. Know this, that I and My bhaktas will never be separated to the end of time. The bhaktas alone know the joy of worshipping Me.

211. I repeat the names of My bhaktas. I contemplate their form in My imagination and it is My pleasure from time to time to look to the joy of My bhaktas.

212. It is My bhaktas alone who are always thinking of My feet. It is they who sing of My good qualities, and worship Me with desireless minds.

213. If I give them the four chief earthly gifts, including the four forms of deliverance, they will not so much as touch them with their hands. The bhaktas never put on Me the burden of supplying their domestic wants.

214. I am the heart of My bhaktas. They are My nearest relatives. Considered from every side. My bhaktas seem more generous than I am.

215. Therefore, I Keshav (Krishna) have no desire to go away from being near to Kama’s heart.’

216. While the Husband of Rukmini was saying this, the sun arose. What then happened further, listen with reverence, you wise bhaktas.

Footnotes and references:


The eightfold yoga:—
1. yama = Restraint or government of the senses.
2. niyama = A religious observance.
3. āsana = Posture or attitude.
4. prāṇāyāma = Breathing.
5. pratyāhāra = Withdrawing or restraining the organs from the objects of sense.
6. dhāraṇā = Suspending the breath, abstracting the mind, and restraining all natural wants.
7. dhyāna = Profound and abstract contemplation.|
8. samādhi = Deep and devout meditation; restraining the senses and confining the mind to contemplation; abstracted or absorbed state.

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: