Vedic influence on the Sun-worship in the Puranas

by Goswami Mitali | 2018 | 68,171 words

This page relates ‘Sun-worship Vratas (19) Trigati-saptami’ of the study on the Vedic influence of Sun-worship in the Puranas, conducted by Goswami Mitali in 2018. The tradition of observing Agnihotra sacrifice and the Sandhya, etc., is frequently observed among the Hindus. Another important innovation of the Sun-worship in the Puranas is the installation of the images of the Sun in the temples.—This section belongs to the series “Rituals Related to the Sun-Worship in the Puranas”.

The Trigatisaptamī begins on the seventh day of the bright fortnight in the month of Phālguna and lasts for a year. The Sun-god is worshipped under the three names Haṃsa, the Āśvins and Bhāskara. The whole year of the twelve months is divided into three divisions of four months. From Phālguṇa to Jyeṣṭha, Sūrya is worshipped as Haṃsa, from Āṣāḍa to Aśvina as Mārtaṇḍa, and Kārtika to Māgha as Bhāskara. By the observance of this vrata, the worshipper secures earthly lordship, over lordship of the earth and pleasures of the Indraloka and residence of the Sūryaloka.[1]

Footnotes and references:


Ibid., 1.104

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: