Rudra-Shiva concept (Study)

by Maumita Bhattacharjee | 2018 | 54,352 words

This page relates ‘Yogacarya incarnation of Shiva’ of the study on the Rudra-Shiva concept in the Vedic and Puranic literature, starting with the concept of God as contemplated by the Rishis (Vedic sages). These pages further deal with the aspects, legends, iconography and eulology of Rudra-Shiva as found in the Samhitas, Brahamanas, Aranyakas, Upanishads Sutras and Puranas. The final chapters deal with descriptions of his greatness, various incarnations and epithets.

15. Yogācārya incarnation of Śiva

There are twenty-five Yogācāryas in the seventh manvantara in the varāha kalpa.

The names of them are mentioned—[1]

  1. Śveta,
  2. Sutāra,
  3. Madana,
  4. Suhotra,
  5. Kaṅka,
  6. Laugākṣi,
  7. Mahāmāya,
  8. Jaigīṣavya,
  9. Dadhivāha,
  10. Ṛṣabha,
  11. Sage Ugra,
  12. Atri,
  13. Supālaka,
  14. Gautama,
  15. Sage Vedaśiras,
  16. Gokarṇa,
  17. Guhāvāsin,
  18. Śikhaṇḍin,
  19. Lāṅgulin,
  20. Mahākāla,
  21. Śūlin,
  22. Muṇḍīśa,
  23. Viṣṇu,
  24. Somaśarman and
  25. Lakulīśvara.

Footnotes and references:



Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: