Kavyamimamsa of Rajasekhara (Study)

by Debabrata Barai | 2014 | 105,667 words

This page relates ‘Poetic conventions regarding to the Identity of Twelve Suns’ of the English study on the Kavyamimamsa of Rajasekhara: a poetical encyclopedia from the 9th century dealing with the ancient Indian science of poetics and rhetoric (also know as alankara-shastra). The Kavya-mimamsa is written in eighteen chapters representing an educational framework for the poet (kavi) and instructs him in the science of applied poetics for the sake of making literature and poetry (kavya).

Part 7.15 - Poetic conventions regarding to the Identity of Twelve Suns

In poetic convention describe to the twelve suns. In a mythological describe about the born of suns in the Viṣṇudharmottarapurāṇa[1].

The twelve suns are:

  1. Dhata,
  2. Mitra,
  3. Aruama,
  4. Rudra,
  5. Varuna,
  6. Surya,
  7. Bhaga,
  8. Vivasvan,
  9. Pusa,
  10. Savita,
  11. Tvasta and
  12. Visnu.

Later all these names are used as a synonyms to indicate sun.

To illustrate this Rājaśekhara gives an example from the Śūryaśataka of Mayūra as:

yasyādho'dhastathoparyupari niravadhi bhrāmyato viśvamaśvairāvṛttālātalīlāṃ
  racayati tayato maṇḍalaṃ caṇḍadhāmnaḥ
  raddaṇḍaiḥ prāpayanvaḥ pracuratamatamaḥstomamastaṃ samastam
|| ”

- Kāvyamīmāṃsā of Rājaśekhara: Ch-XVI, Pp- 88

Footnotes and references:


Viṣḥṇudharmottarapurāṇa, quated Viṣṇusvarūpa: Pp-223

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: