Puranic encyclopaedia

by Vettam Mani | 1975 | 609,556 words | ISBN-10: 0842608222

This page describes the Story of Yajurveda included the Puranic encyclopaedia by Vettam Mani that was translated into English in 1975. The Puranas have for centuries profoundly influenced Indian life and Culture and are defined by their characteristic features (panca-lakshana, literally, ‘the five characteristics of a Purana’).

Story of Yajurveda


The Caturvedas are:—Ṛgveda, Yajurveda Sāmaveda and Atharvaveda. Viṣṇu Purāṇa, Part 3, Chapter 5, mentions that Vaiśampāyana, the disciple of Vedavyāsa, divided Yajurveda into twentyseven branches and taught them to his disciples. Among those disciples there was Yājñavalkya, the son of Brahmarāta. It was Vyāsa who divided the Vedas into four parts. After dīviding them, the sage Vyāsa taught Ṛgveda to Paila, Yajurveda to Vaiśampāyana, Sāmaveda to Jaimini and Atharvaveda to Sumantu.

The rules for Japa, Homa etc. of Yajurveda were taught to Vyāsa by Agnideva. If all the rules of Yajurveda are correctly observed, all desires will be fulfilled. There are special rules for the observance of homa for the fulfilment of particular desires.

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: