Puranic encyclopaedia

by Vettam Mani | 1975 | 609,556 words | ISBN-10: 0842608222

This page describes the Story of Aparavidya included the Puranic encyclopaedia by Vettam Mani that was translated into English in 1975. The Puranas have for centuries profoundly influenced Indian life and Culture and are defined by their characteristic features (panca-lakshana, literally, ‘the five characteristics of a Purana’).

Story of Aparāvidyā

Knowledge is of two categories or types. Viz.


That science or knowledge, which helps us to know or realise Him (Brahma) who is without either beginning or end, who could neither be seen with the eyes nor perceived by any of the senses.


This includes knowledge of the four Vedas Ṛg, Yajus, Sāma and Atharva, the six Vedāṅgas (sub-divisions of the Vedas) Śikṣā, Kalpa, Nirukta, Chandas, Vyākaraṇa, Apidhāna, Mīmāṃsā, Dharmaśāstra and the purāṇas, as also, Nyāya Śāstra (Logic), Vaidya Śāstra (medicine) Gandharva Śāstra, Dhanurveda and Artha Śāstra (economics).

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: