Taittiriya Upanishad

by A. Mahadeva Sastri | 1903 | 206,351 words | ISBN-10: 8185208115

Summary: The Taittiriya Upanishad is one of the older, "primary" Upanishads, part of the Yajur Veda. It says that the highest goal is to know the Brahman, for that is truth. It is divided into three sections, 1) the Siksha Valli, 2) the Brahmananda Valli and 3) the Bhrigu Valli.

1) The Siksha Valli deals with the discipline of Shiksha (which is the first of the six Vedangas or "limbs" or auxiliaries of the Vedas), that is, the study of phonetics and pronunciation.

2) The Brahmananda Valli teaches about Brahman and tries to define it as "Truth, Omniscient, and Infinite".

3) The Bhrigu Valli describes how son of Varuna (The Water God) Bhrigu obtained realization of Brahman through repeated Tapas under his fathers guidance.

This edition contains the orignal sanskrit, roman (IAST) transliteration and the english translation of the Taittiriya Upanishad With the Commentaries of Śaṅkarāchārya (Shankara), Sureśvarāchārya (Sureshvara) and Sāyaṇa (also known as Vidyāraṇya)

Other names include: Taittirīyopaniṣad (तैत्तिरीयोपनिषद्, तैत्तिरीयोपनिषत्) and Taittirīya-Upaniṣad (तैत्तिरीय-उपनिषद्)

Source: archive.org

Contents of this online book ( + / - )

The full text of the Taittiriya Upanishad in English is available here and publically accesible (free to read online). Of course, I would always recommend buying the book so you get the latest edition. You can see all this book’s content by visiting the pages in the below index:


Comment functionality currently not enabled
Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: