The Skanda Purana

by G. V. Tagare | 1950 | 2,545,880 words

This page describes The Ultimate and Eternal Sudarshana Cakra on Stone at Dvaraka which is chapter 37 of the English translation of the Skanda Purana, the largest of the eighteen Mahapuranas, preserving the ancient Indian society and Hindu traditions in an encyclopedic format, detailling on topics such as dharma (virtous lifestyle), cosmogony (creation of the universe), mythology (itihasa), genealogy (vamsha) etc. This is the thirty-seventh chapter of the Dvaraka-mahatmya of the Prabhasa Khanda of the Skanda Purana.

Chapter 37 - The Ultimate and Eternal Sudarśana Cakra on Stone at Dvārakā

Śrī Prahlāda, said:

1-8. “Kṛṣṇa and Kṛṣṇa”—muttering like this, if an outcaste keeps worshipping Kṛṣṇa unfailingly sitting awake throughout the night in the Kaliyuga, he gets the form and appearance of Kṛṣṇa. “Kṛṣṇa and Kṛṣṇa”—one who says, day and night like this persistently in the Kaliyuga, he/she reaps the fruits accruable to performance of thousands of yajñas as well as those arising from crore of centres of pilgrimage. If the eleventh day of the Lunar Month has already been completed, but the same somehow lingers into the twelfth day, then such a time is well-known as unmīlinī and is considered propitious for pilgrimage. By sitting awake throughout the night in the worship of Kṛṣṇa on the day called vañjulī, meritorious fruits attended upon performance of thousands of yajñas can be had in just half of a moment. If the twelfth day of the lunar month is completed, but somehow extends over to the next thirteenth day, then such a day, the best of sages, is known as vañjulī which (in any case) is quite difficult to avail in the Kaliyuga. As the religious time known as unmīlinī approaches and people observe the same by sitting awake throughout the night (in the worship of Kṛṣṇa) meritorious fruits attended upon gifting of a crore of cows can be availed by them in just half a moment In a lunar month if after the completion of the eleventh day, the duration of the onward following days keeps increasing either till the new moon day or the full moon day, then such a time Is known as the enhanced period in the lunar month. After the coming into being of the enhanced period in the lunar month, those who comply by worshipping Kṛṣṇa by sitting awake throughout the night, they reap the fruits attended upon gifting one crore cows even in half of a half moment.

Śrī Prahlāda said:

9-24. By a bath at Cakratīrtha, a man gets exonerated of all sins. He reaches that supreme place which is free from getting burnt up and destruction. Kṛṣṇa himself had washed his discus there (to clean it after killing the demons). This is how the well-being giving Cakratīrtha sings the glory of supreme Hari. The stones bearing marks of the discus of Viṣṇu there are the givers of liberation. If a stone bearing marks of twelve discuses together is found there it is known as the twelfth Supreme Soul. As a giver-of liberation, its glory has been sung vividly. There are also stones at Dvārāvat adored with just a single discus. Called Sudarśana, bestowing one with salvation is its single (i.e. only) fruit. The Stone bearing marks of two discuses is called Lakṣmī-Nārāyaṇa and its fruits are both granting of luxuries and liberation. The stone with marks of three discuses is called Achyuta and it grants one with the position of Indra of heaven. The stone with marks of four discuses is known as Janārdana. It takes away all difficulties and grants one with property. The Stone with marks of five discuses is called Vāsudeva and it throws away fear of life and death. The stone with marks of six discuses is known as Pradyumna and it blesses one with both Lakṣmī, i.e. wealth and a beautiful body. The stone with seven marks of discuses is called Baladeva and it enhances the fame of one’s clan. The stone with eight marks of discuses is known as Puruṣottama and it grants fulfillment of all wishes/desires. The stone with nine marks of discus is a giver of everything and even that which is difficult for the best of gods. It is called Navavyuha [Navavyūha?]. The stone with marks of ten discuses grants one with kingdom and is known to represent the tenth incarnation of God Kṛṣṇa. The stone bearing eleven marks of discuses is known as Aniruddha and it grants one with supemacy of power. The stone bearing twelve marks of discus is known to represent the twelfth Supreme Soul and grants one with salvation. The stone bearing marks of higher number of discuses in comparison to all these is usually referred as ‘limitless’ and it grants one with both happiness and liberation. Stones to be found anywhere here, but bearing marks of discuses like coins on them, make one free from all sins by just touching them. All sins like Brahmicide, etc. as well as those earned intentionally (by actions) and by words get obsolete by a sincere worship of the stones bearing marks of discuses like pictures engraved on them. Wherever in the region/country inhabited by the outcastes, the stone bearing imprint of the God’s auspicious discus is found, that region becomes the God’s lovely region upto twelve yojanas, (i.e. upto about ninety-six miles in its stretch/expanse/ territory). One who bears this (i.e. the discus-marked stone) on chest as the time of death approaches, the stone bearing imprints of discus crushes one’s sins and he gets himself on the way towards ultimate passage. By taking a bath in the spot of confluence of Gomatì with the sea as well as at Bhṛgu Tīrtha one does not come again in a mother’s womb despite being a sinner. Despite having a vicious nature or a passionate nature, with the very act of worship of Viṣṇu, virtue essentially penetrates the interior being of an individual like the lower portion of an afloat object remains submerged in water.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: