The Skanda Purana

by G. V. Tagare | 1950 | 2,545,880 words

This page describes Yatra Parikrama (pilgrimages) (4): Bath and Darshana of 14 Lingas which is chapter 100d of the English translation of the Skanda Purana, the largest of the eighteen Mahapuranas, preserving the ancient Indian society and Hindu traditions in an encyclopedic format, detailling on topics such as dharma (virtous lifestyle), cosmogony (creation of the universe), mythology (itihasa), genealogy (vamsha) etc. This is the zeroth chapter 100d of the Uttarardha of the Kashi-khanda of the Skanda Purana.

Chapter 100d - Yātrā Parikrama (pilgrimages) (4): Bath and Darśana of 14 Liṅgas

There is another splendid pilgrimage that always brings about Yoga and Kṣema (acquisition and preservation). It destroys all obstacles and it should be performed by the residents of the holy spot.

Taking holy bath in Varaṇā. (1) Śaileśa should be visited at the outset. (2) Then holy dip is taken in the Saṅgama and Saṅgameśvara should be seen. (3) Then the devotee takes the holy plunge in Svalīna Tīrtha and visits Svalīna Īśvara. (4) After bathing in Mandākinī Tīrtha Madhyameśvara should be seen. (5) Then he should perform aquatic rites in Hiraṇyagarbheśa Tīrtha and he should visit Hiraṇyagarbheśa. (6) Then he should take bath in Maṇikarṇikā and visit Īśāna, the Lord. (7) Then he should perform the aquatic rites in Goprekṣakūpa and visit Goprekṣa. (8) After taking bath in Kāpileyahrada, he should visit Vṛṣabhadhvaja. (9) He should visit Upaśānta Śiva after making use of the water in the well concerned. (10) After bathing in Pañcacūḍāhrada he should adore Jyeṣṭhasthāna. (11) After bathing in Catuḥsamudra Kūpa he should adore the Lord. (12) After Upasparśana (bath) in the tank which is in front of the Lord, he should visit Śukreśvara and perform the aquatic rites in the well concerned. (13) After bathing in Daṇḍakhāta, he should worship Vyāghreśa. (14) After bathing in Śaunakeśvara Kuṇḍa he should worship the great Jaṃbukeśa Liṅga. After performing this pilgrimage, the man is never reborn in the ocean of worldly existence, the ocean of misery. The pilgrimage unto these Āyatanas should be successively performed in this order, beginning with the first lunar day in the dark half and ending with the Caturdaśī thereof. After performing this pilgrimage a man is never reborn.

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: