Mahabharata (English)

by Kisari Mohan Ganguli | 2,566,952 words | ISBN-10: 8121505933

The English translation of the Mahabharata is a large text describing ancient India. It is authored by Krishna-Dwaipayana Vyasa and contains the records of ancient humans. Also, it documents the fate of the Kauravas and the Pandavas family. Another part of the large contents, deal with many philosophical dialogues such as the goals of life. Book...

Section Lxix

"Dhritarashtra said,

'I request you, O Sanjaya, to tell me again of the lotus-eyed Krishna; for, by being acquainted with the import of his names, I may, O son, obtain that most exalted of male beings.'

"Sanjaya said,

'The auspicious names (of Kesava) have been previously heard by me. Of those I will tell you as many as I know. Kesava, however, is immeasurable, being above the power of speech to describe.

He is called Vasudeva in consequence of his enveloping all creatures with the screen of illusion, or of his glorious splendour, or of his being the support and resting-place of the gods.

He is called Vishnu because of his all-pervading nature.

He is called Madava, O Bharata, because of his practising as a Muni, concentration of mind on truth and Yoga-absorption.

e is called Madhusudana because of his having slain the Asura Madhu, and also because of his being the substance of the twenty-four objects of knowledge.

Born of the Sattvata race, he is called Krishna because he unites in himself what are implied by the two words Krishi which signifies 'what exists' and na which signifies 'eternal peace'.

He is called Pundarikaksha from Pundarika implying his high and eternal abode, and Aksha implying 'indestructible'; and he is called Janardana because he strikes fear into the hearts of all wicked beings.

He is called Sattvata, because the attribute of Sattva is never dissociated from him and also because he is never dissociated from it; and he is called Vrishabhakshana from Vrishabha implying the 'Vedas' and ikshana implying 'eye', the union of the two signifying that the Vedas are his eyes, or the Vedas are the eyes through which he may be seen,

That conqueror of hosts is called Aja, or unborn, because he has not taken his birth from any being in the ordinary way.

That Supreme Soul is called Damodara because unlike the gods his effulgence is increate and his own, and also because he has self-control and great splendour.

He is called Hrishikesa, from Hrishika meaning 'eternal happiness' and Isa meaning 'the six divine attributes', the union signifying one having joy, happiness, and divinity.

He is called Mahavahu, because he upholds the earth and the sky with his two arms.

He is called Adhakshaja, because he never falls down or suffers any deterioration, and is called Narayana from his being the refuge of all human beings.

He is called Purusottama from Puru implying 'he that creates and preserves' and so meaning 'he that destroyes, the union signifying one that creates, preserves, and destroyes the universe'.

He possesses a knowledge of all things, and, therefore, is called Sarva, Krishna is always in Truth and Truth is always in him, and Govinda is Truth’s Truth. Therefore, he is called Satya.

He is called Vishnu because of his prowess, and Jishnu because of his success.

He is called Ananta from his eternity, and Govinda from his knowledge of speech of every kind. He makes the unreal appear as real and thereby beguiles all creatures. Possessed of such attributes, ever devoted to righteousness, and endued with divinity, the slayer of Madhu, that mighty-armed one incapable of decay, will come hither for preventing the slaughter of the Kurus.'"


This concludes Section Lxix of Book 5 (Udyoga Parva) of the Mahabharata, of which an English translation is presented on this page. This book is famous as one of the Itihasa, similair in content to the eighteen Puranas. Book 5 is one of the eighteen books comprising roughly 100,000 Sanskrit metrical verses.

FAQ (frequently asked questions):

Which keywords occur in Section Lxix of Book 5 of the Mahabharata?

The most relevant definitions are: Krishna, Vedas, Kesava, Sanjaya, Vishnu, Govinda; since these occur the most in Book 5, Section Lxix. There are a total of 33 unique keywords found in this section mentioned 43 times.

What is the name of the Parva containing Section Lxix of Book 5?

Section Lxix is part of the Sanatsujata Parva which itself is a sub-section of Book 5 (Udyoga Parva). The Sanatsujata Parva contains a total of 31 sections while Book 5 contains a total of 4 such Parvas.

Can I buy a print edition of Section Lxix as contained in Book 5?

Yes! The print edition of the Mahabharata contains the English translation of Section Lxix of Book 5 and can be bought on the main page. The author is Kisari Mohan Ganguli and the latest edition (including Section Lxix) is from 2012.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: