The Garuda Purana

by Manmatha Nath Dutt | 1908 | 245,256 words | ISBN-13: 9788183150736

The English translation of the Garuda Purana: contents include a creation theory, description of vratas (religious observances), sacred holidays, sacred places dedicated to the sun, but also prayers from the Tantrika ritual, addressed to the sun, to Shiva, and to Vishnu. The Garuda Purana also contains treatises on astrology, palmistry, and preci...

Chapter LXII - Discourses on Lagnamana

(and determination of what one ought or ought not to do from the stable or mobile character of the Lagna)

Hari said:—Beginning from the time of its rising the sun lives in the various Rashis (signs of the Zodiac), O Hara. He lives for six days and six night in his own Rashi. He lives for five hours in Pisces and Aris, four hours in Taurus and Aquaris, three hours in Capricornus and Gemini, five hours in Sagittarius and Cancer, six hours in Leo and Scorpio and seven hours in Virgo and Libra. This is described as the extent of Lagna.[1] If a woman is born when the Sun is in Aries she becomes barren; when he is in Taurus she becomes handsome in person; when, in Gemini, she becomes lucky; when, in Cancer, she becomes dissolute; when, in Leo, she becomes the mother of few children; when, in Virgo, she becomes supremely beautiful; when, in libra, she is endowed with both beauty and fortune; when, in scorpio, she becomes foul-mouthed; when, in Sagittarius, she becomes fortunate; when, in Capricornus, she becomes mean; when, in Aquaris, she becomes the mother of few children; when, in Pisces, she is endued with the spirit of disassociation from the world. The Rash is Libra, Cancer, Aries, Capricornus are both moveable and fixed. Leo, Taurus, Aquaris, and Scorpio are all fixed groups of stars. Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces, and Gemini, are endued with twofold characters. It is better to leave any place under the influence of moving stars and enter the house under that of fixed ones. The installation of an image of the deity should be made under the influence of that group of stars which are both moveable and fixed.

The first, sixth, or the eleventh, day of a fortnight is called Nanda. O bull-emblemed deity, the second, seventh, or the twelfth day is called bhadra. The eigth, third, or the thirteenth, day is called Jaya, O Rudra. The fourth, or the ninth, day is call Rikta. The fourteenth day is called Varjya. The fifth, or the tenth, day is called Purna. And the full-moon day is called Shubha.

Mercury is always on circuit, Jupiter is always quick in motion, Venus is slow, the Sun is certain, Saturn is terrific, Mars is fierce, and the Moon is calm. Under the influence of Mercury and Jupiter one should leave his house; under the influence of Venus and Sun one should enter a house; under  the influence of Saturn and Mars the Kshatryas, who desire for success, should be engaged in battle.

The installation of a king and sacred fire should be done on a Monday. Under the influence of the Moon one should lay the foundation of a dwelling house. Under the influence of Mars one should accept the command of an army, undertake a war and practise arms. Under the influence of Mercury any work, deliberation, or journey, is crowned with success. Under the influence of Jupiter one should study, adore the gods, and put on new habiliments and ornaments. Under the influence of Venus it is better to give away a daughter in marriage, ride an elephant, enter into contracts, or espouse a wife. Under the influence of Saturn it is auspicious to enter a house for the first time, or entrap an elephant.

Footnotes and references:


The Sun’s entrance into a Zodiacal sign.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: