The Garuda Purana

by Manmatha Nath Dutt | 1908 | 245,256 words | ISBN-13: 9788183150736

The English translation of the Garuda Purana: contents include a creation theory, description of vratas (religious observances), sacred holidays, sacred places dedicated to the sun, but also prayers from the Tantrika ritual, addressed to the sun, to Shiva, and to Vishnu. The Garuda Purana also contains treatises on astrology, palmistry, and preci...

Chapter LV - Description of the Geographical situations of the different countries of the earth

(as well as of India with its physical features)

Hari said:—In the centre is situate the kingdom of Ilavrita; while that of Bhadrashva is situate in the east. In the south-east is situate Hiranvanvarsha, O bull-emblemed deity, Kimpurusha Varsha is situate in the south of the mount Meru. Bharata Varsha is situate in the south, while Hari, in the south-west. Ketumala is situate in the west, while Ramyaka, in the north-west. In the north is situate Kuruvarsha covered with Kalpa trees. O. Rudra, except Bharata Varsha, Siddhi is naturally obtainable everywhere. Indradvipa, Kasherumana, Tamravarna, Gabhastiman, Nagadvipa, Kataha, Simhala and Varuna—these are the nine islands each encircled by an ocean. The Kiratas live in the east, the Yavanas in the west, the Andhras in the south, and the Turashkas in the north. The Brahmanas, Kshatryas, Vaishyas and Sudras live in the central group of the islands.

Mahendra, Malaya, Sahya, Shuktiman, Riksha, Vindhya, Paribhadra,—all these are the seven boundary mountains. Vedasmriti, Narmada, Varada, Surasa, Shiva, Tapi, Payoshni, Sarayu, Kaveri, Gomati, Godaveri, Bhimarathi, Krishnavarna, Mahanadi, Ketumala, Tamraparni, Chandrabhaga, Sarasvati, Rishikutya, Mritaganga, Payashvini, Vidarbha and Satadru—these are the sacred rivers destructive of all sins. The inhabitants of the central countries drink the water of all these rivers.

Panchalas, Kurus, Matsyas, Youdheyas, Sapatacharas, Kuntis and Surasenas, are the the clans who inhabit the central countries. O bull-emblemed deity, the Padmas, Sutas, Magadhas, Chedis, Kashayas, Videhas live in the eastern countries. Koshalas, Kalingas, Vangas, Pundrangas, Mulakas as well as those living around the Vindhya ranges are said to inhabit south-eastern countries. The inhabitants of Pulinda, Ashmaka and Jinutanaya as well as Kambojas, Karnatas and Ghatas are called Southerners. The people of Amvastha, Dravida, Latta, Kamboja, Strimukha, Saka, and Anartha are said to inhabit south-western, countries. Strairajyas, Saindhavas, Mlechchhas and the godless Yavanas together with Naishadas and the people of Mathura are known as inhabiting the western countries. Mandavya, Tushara, Mulika, Musha, Kosha, Mahakesha, Mahanada are the countries lying in the north-west. Lamvakas, Tananagas, Madragandharavahyikas are the Mlechchhas living in the north beyond the Himalaya. Trigarta, Nilakolabha, Brahmaputra, Satangkana, Ablushaha and Kashmira are all situated in the north.

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: