The Garuda Purana

by Manmatha Nath Dutt | 1908 | 245,256 words | ISBN-13: 9788183150736

The English translation of the Garuda Purana: contents include a creation theory, description of vratas (religious observances), sacred holidays, sacred places dedicated to the sun, but also prayers from the Tantrika ritual, addressed to the sun, to Shiva, and to Vishnu. The Garuda Purana also contains treatises on astrology, palmistry, and preci...

Chapter LIV - Progeny of Priya Vrata and incidental description of the Seven Islands of the Earth

Hari said:—Agnidhra, Agnivahu, Vapushman, Dyutiman, Medhatithi, Bhavya, Shavala, Putra, and the tenth Jyotisman—these were the sons of Priyavrata. Medha and Agnivahu had three sons each, who were given to Yoga, were great, had the recollection of their pristine births and fixed their minds on the kingdom. Having divided the earth into seven insular continents the king conferred them on his seven sons. The earth is situated on the water like unto a boat and is five hundred koti yojanas in dimension. O Hara, the two insular continents are Jamvu and Plaksha. The next is Shalmala. The others are Kusha, Krauncha and Shaka. The seventh is Pushkara. All these islands are each girt by seven oceans. They are Lavana, Ikshu, Sura, Sarpi, Dadhi, Dugdha, and water. Each ocean is double in dimension than the island it encircles, O bull-emblemed deity. In the insular continent of Jamvu is situate the mount Meru extending over a lak of Yojanas. Its summit is eighty four thousand Yoyanas in height. Its base is sixteen thousand Yojanas and is of the shape of a pericarp of a lotus. The boundary mountains Himavan, Hemakuta and Nishadha are situate on its south, while Nila, Shveta and Sringi mountains are situate in the north. O Rudra, the persons, who live in the insular continent of Plaksha, are immortal. O Shankara, there is no division of Yugas (cycles) in all these islands. Agnidhra, the king of the insular continent Jamvu, had;nine sons, viz., Nabhi, Kimpurusha, Harivarsha, Ilavrita, Ramya, Hiranvan, Shastha, Kurubhadrashva and Ketumala. The king divided his kingdom into nine parts and conferred them on all his sons. Nabhi begat on Merudevya a son by name Rishabha. His son, the ascetic Bharata lived in Shalagrama. Bharata’s son was Sumati whose son was Tejasa. His son was Indradyumna, whose son was known as Paramesthi. The latter’s son was Prateehara whose son was Pratiharta. He begat a son by name Prastara whose son was the powerful Prithu. His son was Nakta whose son was Gaya. Gaya’s son was Nara whose son was Buddhirat. His son was the intelligent and highly powerful Bhauvana. He had four sons, viz., Tvastha, Tvasthu, Viraja and Rajas. Raja’s son was Shatajit whose son was Vishvakjyot.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: