The Agni Purana

by N. Gangadharan | 1954 | 360,691 words | ISBN-10: 8120803590 | ISBN-13: 9788120803596

This page describes Combinations of good and bad asterisms (nakshatra-nirnaya) which is chapter 126 of the English translation of the Agni Purana, one of the eighteen major puranas dealing with all topics concerning ancient Indian culture, tradition and sciences. Containing roughly 15,000 Sanskrit metrical verses, subjects contained in the Agni-Purana include cosmology, philosophy, architecture, iconography, economics, diplomacy, pilgrimage guides, ancient geography, gemology, ayurveda, etc.

Chapter 126 - Combinations of good and bad asterisms (nakṣatra-nirṇaya)

[Sanskrit text for this chapter is available]

The Lord said:

1-2. I shall describe combinations of asterisms determining good and bad. One should count the asterism in which the Sun is present and assign three (asterisms) from that at the head (of human figure drawn), one at the face, two in the place of the eyes, four at the hands and feet, five at the heart, the genital organ and the knee. Then one should determine one’s longevity etc. (based on that).

3. The presence of the natal star on the head or at the face indicates acquisition of kingdom. (Its location) on the eyes (indicates) fortune and lustre. (Its location) at the heart (indicates) acquisition of wealth.

4. (Its presence) on the arms (indicates) that one would be a thief. (Its presence) on one of the feet (indicates) death or (the natal would be) a wanderer.

5. (Commencing with the asterism in which the Sun is stationed, the respective names of the days associated should be written on eight pitchers leaving the pitcher for the Sun as empty). The pitcher of the Sun exerts malignant influence and the pitchers in the east and other directions benevolent influence. I shall describe the (method known as) Phaṇi Rāhu, which indicates success or failure (in battle).

6-10. Twenty-eight circles should be drawn, intersected by four lines. The asterisms should be arranged therein in rows of three. The asterism occupied by Rāhu (the ascending node) should be deemed as the head of the serpent. Commencing with that, the twenty-seven asterisms are arranged in successive order. The presence of seven asterisms at the face (of the serpent) (indicates) that one will die in the battle. The presence of seven asterisms at the shoulders as well as the middle part (of the body) (portends) complete rout. Their presence at the belly foretells honour and success for the native. Their presence about the waist indicates success over rivals in the battle. One would get fame if (the asterisms) are situated on the tail. The asterisms aspected by Rāhu indicate death. I shall describe you a different (combination) known as the strength of the Sun and Rāhu.

11-12. Sun, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Saturn, Jupiter, Mars and Rāhu respectively preside over one-sixteenth part of a day. One who (sets out) after the expiry of (the periods of) Saturn, Sun and Rāhu, conquers battalions of army, and a marching force and wins in gambling.

13-15. (The asterisms) Rohiṇī and the three Uttarās (Uttaraphālgunī, Uttarāṣāḍha and Uttaraproṣṭapada) and the Mṛgaśīrṣa are the five fixed (asterisms). (The asterisms) Aśvinī, Revatī, Svātī, Dhaniṣṭhā and the Śatabhiṣak are the five movable (asterisms). One should undertake journeys in these (asterisms). Anurādhā, Hasta, Mūla, Mṛgaśīrṣa), Puṣya. and Punarvasu are (commended) for all acts. Jyeṣṭhā, Citrā, Viśākhā, the three Pūrvas (Pūrvaphālgunī, Pūrvāṣāḍha and Pūrvaproṣṭapada), Kṛttikā, Bharaṇī, Maghā, Ārdrā and Āśleṣā are evil.

16. (All acts) at fixed places (should be done under the influence) of fixed asterisms. Movable asterisms are excellent for journeys. One should do (acts) in mild (asterisms) for conferring prosperity and frightful (deeds) in malignant (asterisms).

17-21. An evil (act) should be done (under the influence) of an evil asterism. I shall now describe (the aster isms known to) have their faces downwards etc. (The asterisms) Kṛttikā, Bharaṇī, Āśleṣā, Viśākhā, Maghā, Mūla, the three Pūrvas (Pūrvāṣāḍha, Pūrvaphālgunī and Pūrvaproṣṭapada) (are known to be) downward-faced. One should do such acts (which require) keeping one’s face downwards. (Digging) of wells and tanks, acts relating to imparting knowledge and preparation of medicine, the launching of a boat, installation of a prince and pitching (of a royal camp) etc. (should be performed) in these (asterisms). (The nine (asterisms) Revatī, Aśvinī, Citrā, Hasta, Svātī, Punarvasu, Anurādhā, Mṛga (Mṛgaśīrṣa), Jyeṣṭhā are known as having their faces lateral. One should perform coronation of kings, construction of stables for elephants and horses, laying of garden houses, building of palaces, walls, doorways, fixing of flagstaff and banner etc. under these (asterisms).

22-26. The twelfth day falling on a Sunday, the eleventh day on a Monday, the tenth day on a Tuesday, the third day on a Wednesday, the sixth day on a Thursday, the second day on a Friday, and the seventh day on a Saturday are inauspicious. I shall now describe the (combination known as) tripuṣkara. The second, twelfth, seventh and the third day with the Sunday, Tuesday and Saturday, these six (are known to be tripuṣkara. (The asterisms) Viśākhā, Kṛttikā, the two Uttarās, Punarvasu and the Pūrvabhādrapada, these six (are known to be) tripuṣkara. Any profit, loss, victory, disease, birth of a son, loss, something which has slipped and that which has strayed, all these get multiplied thrice (during the tripuṣkara period).

27-28. The seven (asterisms) Aśvinī, Bharaṇī, Āśleṣā, Puṣya, Svātī, Viśākhā and Śravaṇa are known (to be having) firm look. They have their look in ten directions. The journey undertaken to a far off place at an auspicious moment (is followed by a safe) return journey.

29-31. The five asterisms—the two Āṣāḍhas (Pūrvāṣāḍha and Uttarāṣāḍha), Revatī, Citrā and Punarvasu (are) squinteyed. The person undertaking a journey under these asterisms (has a safe) return. Kṛttikā, Rohiṇī, Saumya (the five stars on the orion’s head), Phālguni, Maghā, Mūla, Jyeṣṭhā, Anurādhā, Dhaniṣṭhā, Śatabhiṣak and Pūrvabhādrapada are known as blunted. One who undertakes journey under these asterisms would again return home.

32. Anything lost (on days ruled by the asterisms) Hasta, Uttarabhādra (pada), Ārdrā and Āṣāḍha cannot be recovered and a battle commenced in these asterisms) would not continue.

33-36. I shall again describe the gaṇḍānta (the first fourth of an asterism preceded by a node of asterisms) in the midst of asterisms as such. The four nāḍīs (one nāḍī equals 24 minutes) of the (asterism) Revatī and the four (nāḍīs) of Aśvinī (are known as gaṇḍas). One has to avoid with great care those yāmas (three hours) (in undertaking a journey etc). The four ghaṭikās (one ghaṭikā equals 24 minutes) forming last part of Āśleṣā and the first part of Maghā are called the second gaṇḍa. Listen to me! O Bhairavī! The third (gaṇḍa) is between the asterisms of Jyeṣṭhā and Mūla, and that is of the form extremely malignant for three hours. One should not do auspicious acts in these, if he wants to live. At the time of birth of a child in these periods the parents would die.

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: