The Agni Purana

by N. Gangadharan | 1954 | 360,691 words | ISBN-10: 8120803590 | ISBN-13: 9788120803596

This page describes Mode of worshipping Ganesha (ganeshapuja) which is chapter 71 of the English translation of the Agni Purana, one of the eighteen major puranas dealing with all topics concerning ancient Indian culture, tradition and sciences. Containing roughly 15,000 Sanskrit metrical verses, subjects contained in the Agni-Purana include cosmology, philosophy, architecture, iconography, economics, diplomacy, pilgrimage guides, ancient geography, gemology, ayurveda, etc.

Chapter 71 - Mode of worshipping Gaṇeśa (gaṇeśapūjā)

[Sanskrit text for this chapter is available]

The God said:

1-2. I shall describe the (mode of) worship of Gaṇa [i.e., gaṇapūjā, gaṇeśapūjā]. (Gaṇeśa) which removes obstacles and confers the desired. objects. (The worship of six kinds should be done as follows): The heart with “oblations to Gaṇeśa”, the head with “(obla-tions) to the one-tusked”, the tuft with “(oblations) to the one who has the ear like that of an elephant”, the armour with “(oblations) to the elephant-faced”, the eye with “(oblations) to the big-bellied,” the weapons with “(oblations) to one who has his own tusk in his hands”.

3-5. One should worship the gaṇa, the preceptor, the sandals, the (divine) energy, Ananta, the dharma, and the collection of bones in the lower part of the pedestal, the cover, the petals of the lotus, the lotus and the principal letter, (should be worshipped) in the upper part. (The energies) (are) Jvālinī, Nandā, Sūryeśā, Kāmarūpā, Udayā, Kāmavarttinī, Satyā, and Vighnanāśā. The seat (should be worshipped) with perfumes and earth. (With the following letters the appropriate acts should be performed): the drying with Yaṃ, the burning with raṃ, the agitating with laṃ and making it to nectar with vaṃ.

The gāyatrī-mantra is:

lambodarāya vidmahe mahodarāya dhīmahi tanno dantī pracodayāt.

[“May we know the Supreme person. For that, we meditate upon Lambodara (long-bellied) and Mahodara (big-bellied). May Dantin (one who has the tusk) impel us towards it.”]

6-7. The following are the names of Gaṇeśa to be worshipped: “Gaṇapati (Lord of gaṇas), Gaṇādhipa (chieftain of the gaṇas), Gaṇeśa (Lord of gaṇas), Gaṇanāyaka (the lord of gaṇas), Gaṇakrīḍa (one who sports with the gaṇas), Vakratuṇḍa (having a bent trunk), Ekadaṃṣṭra (having one tusk), Mahodara (big-bellied), Gajavaktra (elephant-faced), Lambakukṣi (long-bellied), Vikaṭa (dreadful), Vighnanāśana (destroyer of impediments), Dhūnravarṇa (tawny-coloured) and Mahendra.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: