Sushruta Samhita, Volume 6: Uttara-tantra

by Kaviraj Kunja Lal Bhishagratna | 1916 | 113,078 words

This current book, the Uttara-tantra (english translation) is the supplementary part of the Sushrutasamhita and deals various subjects such as diseases of the eye, treatment of fever, diarrhea, diseases resulting from superhuman influences, insanity, rules of health etc. The Sushruta Samhita is the most representative work of the Hindu system of m...

Chapter VIII - Classification and treatment of ocular affections

Now we shall discourse on the chapter which deals with the classification of occular affection according to the different modes of treatment (Netra-Roga-Chikitsa-Vibhaga-Vijnaniya). 1.


We have already described the names and symptoms of the seventy-six kinds of eye disease. We shall now briefly and severally deal with the nature of treatment to be pursued in them. Of these seventy-six kinds eleven should be treated with incision operations (Cedya), nine with scarification (Lekhya), five with excision (Bhedya), fifteen with venesection (Vyadhya); twelve cases should not be operated upon and seven admit only of palliative measures (Yapya), while fifteen should be given up by an experienced physician (Ophthalmic surgeon) as incurable. The two kinds of eye-disease of traumatic origin should be likewise held as incurable or admitting only of palliative measures at the best. 2.

Names of the Cedya and Lekhya eye-diseases:—

Diseases which should be treated with incision are Arsho-vartma, Shushkarshas, Arvuda, Sira-Pidaka, Sira-jala, the five types of Arman[1], and Parvanika (thus numbering eleven in all). Diseases in which scarification should be resorted to (numbering seven in all) are Utsanginī, Bahala-vartma, Kardama-vartma, Shyava-vartma, Vaddha-vartma, Klishta-vartma, Pothaki, Kumbhīkinī, and Sharkara-vartma. 3-4.

Names of Bhedya and Vyadhya eye-diseases:—

Optical diseases in which the affected localities should be treated with excisions, are Shleshmo-panaha, Lagana, Visa-vartma, Krimi-granthi and Anjana—thus numbering five in all. The two kinds of eye-disease beginning with Sira viz., Sirotpata and Sira-harsha, the two kinds of Akshi-paka attended or unattended with swelling, viz., Sashothakshi-paka and Ashothakshi-paka, and Anyatovata, Puyalasa, Vata-viparyaya and the four types of Abhishyanda and the four types of Adhimantha should be treated with Venesection (Sira-vyadhana). 5-6.

Eye-diseases—not to be operated:—

Operations should not be resorted to in cases of Shushkakshi-paka, Kapha-Vidagdha-Drishti, Pitta-Vidagdha-Drishti, Amladhyushita-Drishti, Shukra-roga, Arjuna, Pishtaka, Aklinna-vartma, Dhuma-darshin, Shuktika, Praklinna-vartma and Valasa—thus making twelve in all. In the traumatic forms also of eye-disease surgical operations are not advised by experts. 7.

Names of curable and incurable eye-disease:—

Palliative or temporary relief is all that can be offered in any of the six types of Kacha described before, as well as in the affection known as Pakshma-kopa, if the patient retains the faculty of sight. Four of the Vayu-origined, two of the Pittaja, one of the Kaphaja, four of the blood-origined and four of the types caused by the concerted action of the three Doshas, as well as the two traumatic forms of optical affections should be regarded as beyond all cure. 8-9.


Thus ends the eighth chapter of the Uttara-Tantra in the Sushruta Samhita which deals with the classification of eye-diseases according to the different modes of treatment.

Footnotes and references:


See Chapter IV, para 2, Uttara-Tantara.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: