Manusmriti with the Commentary of Medhatithi

by Ganganatha Jha | 1920 | 1,381,940 words | ISBN-10: 8120811550

This is the English translation of the Manusmriti, which is a collection of Sanskrit verses dealing with ‘Dharma’, a collective name for human purpose, their duties and the law. Various topics will be dealt with, but this volume of the series includes 12 discourses (adhyaya). The commentary on this text by Medhatithi elaborately explains various t...

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration and English translation by Ganganath Jha:

अहुतं च हुतं चैव तथा प्रहुतमेव च ।
ब्राह्म्यं हुतं प्राशितं च पञ्चयज्ञान् प्रचक्षते ? ॥ ७३ ॥

ahutaṃ ca hutaṃ caiva tathā prahutameva ca |
brāhmyaṃ hutaṃ prāśitaṃ ca pañcayajñān pracakṣate ? || 73 ||

‘They also call these five sacrifices—(1) “Ahuta,” (2) “Huta,” (3) “Prahuta,” (4) “Brāhmya-huta,” and (5) “Prāśita.”’—(73)


Medhātithi’s commentary (manubhāṣya):

In certain Vedic texts, it is these sacrifices that have been enjoined under these names; hence the present verse mentions these names, with a view to show that the injunction of these is based upon the Veda itself.

What is meant also is that the rites that have been mentioned in the Veda by the names. ‘Ahuta’ and the rest, are also included here, though not mentioned by the same names. This is another purpose that the author had in view in mentioning these other names; just like the names ‘brahmayajña,’ ‘śrāddha,’ ‘udvāha,’ ‘parikriyā,’ and so forth.—(73)


Explanatory notes by Ganganath Jha

Two of these technical terms occur in the beginning of Baudhāyana’s Gṛhyasūtra, and four in Pāraskara’s Gṛhyasūtra 1.4.1, as well as in Śāṅkhāyana’s 1.5.1.

This verse is quoted, without comment, in Vīramitrodaya (Āhnika, p. 392);—and in Aparārka (p. 142), which adds that these are the names for the ‘five sacrifices.’


Comparative notes by various authors

(verses 3.73-74)

Pāraskara-Gṛhyasūtra (1.4.1).—‘There are four Pākayajñas—Huta, Ahuta, Prahuta, and Prāśita.’

Āśvalāyana-Gṛhyasūtra (1.1.3).—‘The Huta are those offered into the fire; those not offered into the fire are the Prahuta; and the feeding of Brāhmaṇas constitutes the Brahmaṇi-huta.’

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: