Lalitopakhyana (Lalita Mahatmya)

by G.V. Tagare | 1958 | 103,924 words | ISBN-10: 8120838246 | ISBN-13: 9788120838246

This page describes the chariot of lalita (cakraraja) of the Lalitopakhyana (or Lalita-Mahatmya), an important scripture within Shaktism embedded as the final part in the Brahmanda-Purana. It is presented in the form of a dialogue between sage Agastya and Hayagriva, which is incarnation of Vishnu and also includes the Lalita Sahasranama.

The chariot of Lalitā (Cakrarāja)

[Note: this page is extracted from a footnote at chapter 19]

The struggle between Lalitā and Bhaṇḍāsura is a symbolic description of the struggle between good and evil forces. Thus the description of the chariot of Lalitā is equally symbolic. For the convenience of readers we draw the outline of steps etc. of her chariot.

The Chariot of Lalitā,

I. Around this great seat of Bliss of Lalitā are stationed 15 Eternal deities of the form of time (Kāla-rūpa)—They are on par with Lalitā
[vide VV. 54-60]

II. 3 deities viz. Kāmeśī, Vajreśī and Bhagamālinī the most beloved of Lalitā and comparable to her in grandeur etc.
[vide VV. 49b-53]

III. 8 Rahasya-yoginī deities—Destroyers of Asuras.
[videVV. 46-49a]

IV. 10 Nigarbha-yoginī deities. They are benevolent giving protection, delight etc. to all
[vide VV. 41-45]

V. 10 Kulottīrṇā deities. Auspicious and kind-hearted, powers such as Sarva-siddhi-pradā
[vide VV. 35-40]

VI. 12 Sampradāya deities or Ājñā-śaktis Fiery element predominates as they rose from the ashes of Kama.
[vide VV. 28-34]

VII. 6 Gupta-tarā deities like Anaṅga-madanā etc. Their names show that Eroticism was their forte
[vide VV. 24-27]

VIII. The Śaktis are Gupta ‘secret’
[vide VV. 17-23]
16 digits of the Moon. They are also called ‘Nityā’ Eternal Śaktis
10 Mudrā devīs
[vide VV. 3-16]
10 siddhi-devīs like Animā etc.
(ii) 8 Śaktis like Brāhmī known as “Matṛs”

IX All Śaktis in the IX step are Prakaṭa (Manifest) Śaktis.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: