Cidgaganacandrika (study)

by S. Mahalakshmi | 2017 | 83,507 words

Cidgaganacandrika 28 [The State of Shiva in Cidakasha], English comparative study extracted from the two available commentaries—the Divyacakorika and the Kramaprakashika. The Cidgagana-candrika is an important Tantric work belonging to the Krama system of Kashmir Shaivism. Written by Kalidasa (Shrivatsa) in 312 Sanskrit verses, it deals with the knowledge regarding both the Macrocosmic and Microcosmic phenomena

Verse 28 [The State of Śivā in Cidākāśa]

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration and English commentary of verse 28:

याश्चरन्ति तव खे चिदात्मके शक्तयः करणलक्षणाः शिवे ।
मुक्तबाह्यपदजृम्भणोद्यमाः त्वं हि तिष्ठसि तदूर्ध्वगे पथि ॥ २८ ॥

yāścaranti tava khe cidātmake śaktayaḥ karaṇalakṣaṇāḥ śive |
muktabāhyapadajṛmbhaṇodyamāḥ tvaṃ hi tiṣṭhasi tadūrdhvage pathi || 28 ||

Comparative analysis of commentaries and excerpts in English:

[The State of Śivā in Cidākāśa]

Addressing as Śivā, the Siddhā says that her powers that are in the sky of the cave of the heart as means to the threefold knowledge, stop all external activity and have their being in herself. In that state she shines over and above that path or state.[1]

Citi-Śakti the material cause.

In creating the universe Śakti[2], being the material cause, assumes three forms:—

  1. Kāryarūpa,
  2. Kāraṇarūpa and
  3. Paramakāraṇarūpa.

1) Kāryarūpā denotes the deities in the gross form such as Durgā, Kālī, Tārā, Bagalā etc., who descend for fulfilling a particular activity. They operate amidst the Brahmāṇḍa.

2) The Kāraṇarūpa denotes the ones, which assume subtility in form, having freedom of movement, occupying the sky of the cave of heart, Cidākāsa (Vāṅgmānasa-Mātragocara) and who are beyond the Indriyas. They operate above Brahmāṇda in Cidākāsa.

3) Paramakāraṇarūpa denotes the one who is subtler than the Kāraṇarūpa (Vāṅgmānasayorapi agocara). They operate on a higher plane than the Cidākāsa.

There are three planes at this stage (called aṇḍatraya) where Śakti resides in the form of Prakṛti, Māyā and Śakti, viz.:

  1. Prakṛtyaṇḍa,
  2. Māyāṇḍa,
  3. Saktyaṇḍa.

(Vide Glossary)

The kāraṇarūpa deities that are in the Cidākāsa as means of threefold knowledge, free of all external activities, have their being in Śakti (Paramakāraṇa) who shines on a higher plane.

Notes and Sanskrit references:

[1] Cf. [Divyacakorikā] p 58-[Cidgaganacandrikā] 28.—

tato'saṅgitāpi labhyata evetyāha.

[2] Cf. [Kramaprakāśikā] p 17-[Cidgaganacandrikā]-28.—

śāstre citiśektarviśvopādānabhūtāyā rūpatrayaṃ nirdiṣṭam- kāryarūpam, kāraṇarūpam paramakāraṇarūpaṃ ceti |

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: