Brihat Samhita

by N. Chidambaram Iyer | 1884 | 135,584 words | ISBN-13: 9788171104215

This page describes the constellations (nakshatra-karmaguna) which is the ninety-eighth Chapter of the English translation of the Brihat-samhita. This work, written by Varahamihira in the 6th century, is classified as jyotisha literature, also known as Indian astronomy. It contains however, also content regarding astrology, palmistry, agriculture, gardening, perfumes, medicines and various other encyclopedic topics.

Chapter 98 - On the constellations (nakṣatra-karmaguṇa)

Summary: On the functions and properties of the Asterisms (nakṣatra-karmaguṇa).

1-2. The number of Stars of the various constellations (nakṣatra) from Aśvinī are—3, 3, 6, 5, 3, 1, 5, 3, 6, 5, 8, 2, 5, 1, 1, 5, 4, 3, 11, 2, 8, 3, 5, 100, 2. 8 and 32 respectively and these numbers also represent the various stellar periods.

3. In matters connected with marriage, these numbers represent years after which the effects indicated will be felt. Recovery from fever and the like will begin after so many days.

4-5. The following table contains the names of the Devas presiding over the several constellations—

  Constellations (nakṣatra) Devas
1 Aśvinī Aśvinī Devas
2 Bharaṇī Yama
3 Kṛttikā Agni
4 Rohiṇī Prajāpati
5 Mṛgaśīrṣa Soma
6 Ārdrā Rudra
7 Punarvasu Aditi
8 Puṣya Bṛhaspati
9 Āśleṣā Sarpa
10 Maghā Pitṛs
11 Pūrvaphālguni Bhāga
12 Uttaraphālguni Āryaman
13 Hasta Savitā
Ì4 Citrā Tvaṣṭri
15 Svāti Vāyu
16 Viśākhā Indrāgni
17 Anurādhā Mitra
18 Jyeṣṭhā Indra
19 Mūla Prajāpati
20 Pūrvāṣāḍha Āpa
21 Uttarāṣāḍha Viśvedevā
22 Abhijit Brahmā
23 Śravaṇa Viṣṇu
24 Dhaniṣṭhā Vasu
25 Śatabhiṣaj Varuṇa
26 Pūrvabhādrapada Ajaikapat
27 Uttarabhādrapada Ahirbudhnya
28 Revatī Puṣya

6. Of these 28 constellations (nakṣatra), those of Uttaraphālguni, Uttarāṣāḍha and Uttarabhādrapada together with the constellation of Rohiṇī are known as (Dhruva) stable asterisms. Coronation of kings, expiatory ceremonies, planting of trees, the building of towns, acts of public utility, the sowing of seeds and acts of permanent effects shall he commenced when the Moon passes through the stable asterisms.

7. The constellations (nakṣatra) of Mūla, Ārdrā, Jyeṣṭhā and Āśleṣā are known as (Tīkṣṇa) sharp asterisms. Punishment, incantations, raising of goblins, imprisonment of person, acts of torture, of separation or of union shall be commenced when the Moon passes through the sharp asterisms.

8. The constellations (nakṣatra) of Pūrvaphālguni, Pūrvāṣāḍha, Pūrvabhādrapada, Bharaṇī and Maghā are known as (Uggra) severe asterisms. Acts of disgrace, destruction, deceit, imprisonment, poison, burning, beating with weapons and the like shall be done when the Moon passes through the severe asterisms.

9. The constellations (nakṣatra) of Hasta. Aśvinī and Puṣya are known as (Laghu) light asterisms. Sales, acts of sexual love, acquisition of knowledge, wearing of ornaments, arts, sculpture, medicine purchase of carriage and the like shall be commenced when the Moon passes through the light asterisms.

10. The constellations (nakṣatra) of Anurādhā, Citrā, Revatī and Mṛgaśīrṣa are known as (Mṛdu) soft asterisms. Acts of friendship, sexual union, the purchase of clothes, the wearing or making of ornaments, any auspicious deeds and music shall be commenced when the Moon passes through the soft asterisms.

11. The constellations (nakṣatra) of Kṛttikā and Viśākhā are known as (Mṛdu-Tīkṣṇa) soft and sharp asterisms and they produce effects of mixed character. Śravaṇa, Dhaniṣṭhā, Śatabhiṣaj. Hasta and Svāti are asterisms through which when the Moon passes shall be commenced works of a moving character.

12-13. A person shall get shaved when the asterism of Hasta, Citrā, Dhaniṣṭhā, Svāti, Mṛgaśīrṣa, Śravaṇa, Śatabhiṣaj, Revatī, Aśvinī, Jyeṣṭhā, Puṣya or Punarvasu may happen to rise or in the Muhūrta of such asterisms or when the Moon passes through them, or when the asterism is a benefic one for the person—when it is an even one or the ninth one from the asterism occupied by the Moon at the time of a person’s birth.

13. A person who has just bathed and is wet, one that proceeds on a journey, a person who has dressed and adorned himself, one who has got himself rubbed oil, one who has taken his meals and a person who has received blows in a field of battle shall not get themselves shaved. Shaving is prohibited in twilight hours, hours of night, on Tuesdays, Saturdays and Sundays, on Rikta[1] Tithis, on the ninth lunar day and when the karaṇa is Bhadra.

14. When directed by the king or with the consent of the Brāhmaṇas or on occasions of marriage or pollution, or when a person is released from jail, or at the commencement of sacrificial rites, a person may get shaved on any day in the month.

15. When the Moon passes through the constellations (nakṣatra) of Hasta, Mūla, Śravaṇa, Mṛgaśīrṣa and Puṣya, a person shall perform deeds befitting a male.

16. The various ceremonies of purification, religious rites, the practice of austerities and the wearing of Zone or the Sacred belt shall be commenced when the Moon passes through the asterism of Hasta, Revatī, Svāti, Anurādhā, Puṣya and Citrā, and when Jupiter is in conjunction with Mercury, Venus or the Moon.

17. The ceremony of boring the ear shall be performed when the rising sign is that of a benefic planet and not occupied by malefic planets, when benefic planets occupy the 11th and 3rd house, when Jupiter occupies the rising sign or when the Moon passes through the asterism of Puṣya, Rohiṇī, Citrā, Śravaṇa or Revatī.

18. All works commenced when the 12th house, Kendra houses and the 8th house are not occupied by planets, when malefic planets occupy the 3rd, 6th and 11th houses and when Jupiter or Venus occupies the rising sign or one of the Kendras, will end successfully. House-building or entry into a house shall be commenced when the rising sign is benefic to the person or when it is a fixed sign.

Footnotes and references:


Rikta Tithi vide stanza 2, next chapter.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: