Shivalinga (Shiva Linga)

Image title: Shivalinga (Shiva Linga)

Description of the photo

This stone sculpture shows an image of a Shivalinga, from 17th century A.D.—In Shaivite iconography, there are a number of five-faced Shivalinga (Shiva Linga) in the familiar representation of the phallus. The four faces of Shiva depicted in four corners of the phallus are known as Saddojata (Sadyojata), Vamadeva, Agghora (Aghora) and Tatpurusha and the fifth one Ishana is believed unseen on the head of the phallus. The basic concept of this type of image is to show the presence of Shiva in water, earth, fire, air and sky (ether).

Gallery information:

The National Museum of Nepal (Rashtriya Museum) houses a variety of sculptures, carvings, statues, paintings and other objects grouped according to the major religions such as Hinduism and Buddhism. This photo is from the Hindu stone sculpture (prastara-murti-kala) section.

Photo details:
Date: 2019-11-29
Camera: SONY ILCE-6400
Exposure: 1/25
Aperture: f/4
ISO: 100
Focal length: 18mm

High resolution:
Download file
Size: 2.15 MB
Resolution: 1657 x 2400
© Photograph by Gabe Hiemstra.
License: CC BY-NC-ND 4.0

Goto gallery photo:
Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: