Wisdom Library Logo

Vyavahārapada, aka: Vyavaharapada; 2 Definition(s)


Vyavahārapada means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. Check out some of the following descriptions and leave a comment if you want to add your own contribution to this article.

In Hinduism

Dharmaśāstra (religious law)

Vyavahārapada (व्यवहारपद) refers to the eighteen “law titles”, defined in the various Dharma-śāstras. It is also known by the name Vivādapada.

The Manusmṛti 8.4-7 defines the following eighteen vyavahārapadas:

  1. ṛṇādāna (nonpayment of debt),
  2. nikṣepa (deposits),
  3. asvāmivikraya (sale without ownership),
  4. saṃbhūyasamutthāna (partnerships),
  5. dattasyānapakarma (nondelivery of gifts),
  6. vetanādāna (nonpayment of wages),
  7. saṃvidvyatikrama (breach of contract),
  8. krayavikrayānuśaya (cancellation of sale purchase),
  9. svāmipālavivāda (disputes between owners and herdsmen),
  10. sīmāvivāda (boundary disputes),
  11. vākpāruṣya (verbal assaults),
  12. daṇḍapāruṣya (physical assault),
  13. steya (theft),
  14. sāhasa (violence),
  15. strīsaṃgrahaṇa (sexual crimes against women),
  16. strīpuṃdharma (concerning husband and wife),
  17. vibhāga (partition),
  18. dyūtasamāhvaya (gambling and betting).
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-śāstra

Vyavahārapada (व्यवहारपद).—In the texts of classical Hindu law known as Dharmaśāstra, legal procedure is divided into 18 titles of law (vyavahārapadas) that constitute the theoretically adjudicable categories of crime for which a person may be tried. Perhaps the most important of these is the first, the Non-payment of Debts (ṛṇādāna), under which falls a great variety of proprietary, financial, and fiduciary crimes.

Source: JSTOR: The Non-Observance of Conventions: A Title of Hindu Law in the Smṛticandrikā

about this context:

Dharmaśāstra (धर्मशास्त्र, dharma-shastra) is a category of Hindu literature containing important instructions regarding religious law, ethics, economics, jurisprudence and more. It is categorised as smṛti, an important and authorative selection of books dealing with the Hindu lifestyle.

Relevant definitions

Search found 30 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Vibhāga (विभाग) refers to “partition”, and is commonly classified as one of the eighteen vyavah...
1a) Sahasa (सहस).—The tutelary deity of Pākayajnas; father of Adbhuta.** Brahmāṇḍa-purāṇa...
Steya (स्तेय) refers to “theft”, and is commonly classified as one of the eighteen vyavahārapad...
Vivādapada (विवादपद, “grounds for Litigation”):—This term has the technical meaning of the vari...
Upanidhi (उपनिधि) refers to “deposits”, and is commonly classified as one of the eighteen vyava...
Vivāda (विवाद) is a Sanskrit technical term referring to “substantive law”. The more common tec...
Prakīrṇaka (प्रकीर्णक) refers to “miscellaneous”, and is commonly classified as one of the eigh...
Nikṣepa (निक्षेप).—Deposit; loss of, must be made good; failure to return deposit and fal...
1) Daṇḍapāruṣya (दण्डपारुष्य) is a Sanskrit technical term referring to “harshness of punishmen...
Samayasyānapākarma (समयस्यानपाकर्म) refers to “breach of contract”, and is commonly classified ...
Dāsakarmakarakalpa (दासकर्मकरकल्प) refers to “rules regarding slaves and workers”, and is commo...
Dāyabhāga (दायभाग) refers to “partition”, and is commonly classified as one of the eighteen vya...
Krayavikrayānuśaya (क्रयविक्रयानुशय) refers to “cancellation of sale purchase”, and is commonly...
Saṃbhūyasamutthāna (संभूयसमुत्थान) refers to “partnerships (joint concerns)”, and is commonly c...
Krītānuśaya (क्रीतानुशय) refers to “cancellation of purchase”, and is commonly classified as on...

Relevant text

No results found in any other chapter or book.

- Was this explanation helpufll? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.