Vigraheshvara, Vigraha-ishvara, Vigraheśvara: 1 definition



Vigraheshvara means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Vigraheśvara can be transliterated into English as Vigrahesvara or Vigraheshvara, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Hinduism

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

[«previous next»] — Vigraheshvara in Shaivism glossary
Source: Kāpālikas

Vigraheśvara (विग्रहेश्वर) refers to the “eight lords of divisions”, according to a copper-plate inscription found in Malhar, Chhattisgarh, written around 650 CE: “Śiva has eight embodiments (mūrtyaṣṭaka) [and eight] lords of divisions (vigraheśvara). The sixty-six Rudras are embodiments of Gahaneśa (“Lord of the Abyss”), they bestow liberation in a different form in each aeon”.

Te next set of eight lords, the Vigraheśvaras, is associated with the so-called eight divisions (vigraha), which represent the uppermost part of the Lākulas’ impure universe. Their names, which include four vedic ones, are known from the Mataṅgapārameśvara (1.8.83–5):

  1. Śarva,
  2. Bhava,
  3. Ugra,
  4. Bhīma,
  5. Bhasman,
  6. Antaka,
  7. Dundubhi,
  8. Śrīvatsa.
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of vigraheshvara or vigrahesvara in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: