Vatulagama, aka: Vatula-agama, Vātulāgama; 3 Definition(s)


Vatulagama means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

[Vatulagama in Shaivism glossaries]

Vātulāgama (वातुलागम):—One of the 28 Śaivāgamas. This is one of the eight Āgamas that were proclaimed to the world by the Īśāna face (of Śiva).

(Source): Wisdom Library: Śaivism

Vātulāgama (वातुलागम) or simply Vātula refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classification of the Śaiva division of Śaivāgamas. The Śaivāgamas represent the wisdom that has come down from lord Śiva, received by Pārvatī and accepted by Viṣṇu. The Śaivāgamas are divided into four groups viz. Śaiva, Pāśupata, Soma and Lākula. Śaiva is further divided in to Dakṣiṇa, Vāma and Siddhānta (eg., vātula-āgama).

According to the pratisaṃhitā theory of Āgama origin and relationship (sambandha), it was Sadāśiva who first imparted the Vātulāgama through parasambandha to Śiva, who then imparted it through mahānsambandha to Mahākāla who then, through divya-sambandha, transmitted it to the Devas who, through divyādivya-sambandha, transmitted it to the Ṛṣis who finally, through adivya-sambandha, revealed the Vātulāgama to human beings (Manuṣya). (also see Anantaśambhu’s commentary on the Siddhāntasārāvali of Trilocanaśivācārya)

The Upāgamas for Vātulāgama are: Vātula, Vātulottara, Kālajñāna, Prarohita, Sarva, Dharmātmaka, Śreṣṭha, Nitya, Śuddha, Mahānana, Viśva and Viśvātmaka. The purpose of revealing Upāgamas is to explain more elaborately than that of Mūlāgamas and to include any new idea if not dealt in Mūlāgamas.

(Source): Shodhganga: Iconographical representations of Śiva
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of vatulagama in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Hinduism)

[Vatulagama in Hinduism glossaries]

Vātulāgama from Adyar with commentary seems to be almost identical with the Vātulāgama of the Mysore Oriental Research Institute, only with this difference that the Vātulāgama of Mysore contains more verses in the concluding tenth chapter in which the Vīra-śaiva doctrine is praised above other Śaiva doctrines. But the original beginning is more or less like the general Śaiva doctrine as may be found in Tattva-prakāśikā with Aghora-śivācārya’s commentary.

The supplementary portion of Vātulāgama introduces the doctrine of liṅga-dhāraṇa of the Vīra-śaivas, but does not say anything about its specific philosophy or about its other doctrines associated with ṣaṭ-sthala.

(Source): A History of Indian Philosophy

Relevant definitions

Search found 888 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Agama (अगम) refers to a “tree”, as mentioned in a list of twenty-five synonyms in the second ch...
Vātula (वातुल) or Vātulāgama refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classification ...
Śaivāgama (शैवागम) represents one of the three classes of āgamas (traditionally communicated wi...
Kāmikāgama (कामिकागम) or simply Kāmika refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a class...
Rauravāgama (रौरवागम) or simply Raurava refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a clas...
Candrajñānāgama (चन्द्रज्ञानागम) or simply Candrajñāna refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhā...
Jalāgama (जलागम).—rain; तपति प्रावृषि सुतरामभ्यर्ण- जलागमो दिवसः (tapati prāvṛṣi sutarāmabhyarṇ...
Vātulatantra (वातुलतन्त्र) is the name of an Āgama or Tantra mentioned in the Kakṣapuṭatan...
Sahasrāgama (सहस्रागम) or simply Sahasra refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a cla...
Prodgītāgama (प्रोद्गीतागम) or simply Prodgīta refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama:...
Santānāgama (सन्तानागम) or simply Santāna refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a cl...
Kāraṇāgama (कारणागम) or simply Kāraṇa refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classi...
Svāyambhuvāgama (स्वायम्भुवागम) or simply Svāyambhuva refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhān...
Makuṭāgama (मकुटागम) or simply Makuṭa refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classi...
Lalitāgama (ललितागम) or simply Lalita refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classi...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: