Vakcakra, Vākcakra, Vac-cakra: 3 definitions


Vakcakra means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Alternative spellings of this word include Vakchakra.

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: A Critical Study of the Vajraḍākamahātantrarāja (II)

Vākcakra (वाक्चक्र) refers to the “circle of word” which is associated with the Ḍākinī named Bhūcarī (‘a woman going on the ground’), according to the 9th-centruy Vajraḍākatantra.—Twenty-four districts or seats form three circles (tricakra) i.e.:—1) ‘the cicle of mind’ (cittacakra), 2) ‘the circle of word’ (vākcakra), 3) ‘the circle of body’ (kāyacakra). And the sacred girls (Ḍākinīs) residing on each of tricakra are called respectively:—1) ‘a woman going in the sky’ (khecarī), 2) ‘a woman going on the ground’ (bhūcarī), 3) ‘a woman living underground’ (pātālavāsinī). These three Cakras (viz., vākcakra) of the tricakra (three circles) contain the twenty-four districts or seats (deśa, kṣetra or sthāna) resided over twenty-four “sacred girls” (ḍākinīs).

The Vākcakra contains the following districts or seats:

In the Pīṭhādi named Kṣetra:

  1. Kāmarūpa,
  2. Oḍra.

In the Pīṭhādi named Upakṣetra:

  1. Triśakuni,
  2. Kosala,

In the Pīṭhādi named Chandoha:

  1. Kaliṅga,
  2. Lampāka.

In the Pīṭhādi named Upacchandoha:

  1. Kāñcī,
  2. Himālaya.
Source: The Structure and Meanings of the Heruka Maṇḍala

Vākcakra (वाक्चक्र) refers to the “word circle” positioned in the nirmāṇa-puṭa or ‘emanation layer’ of the Herukamaṇḍala: a large-scale and elaborate maṇḍala of Heruka, consisting of 986 deities, as found in the Ḍākārṇava chapter 15.—The Herukamaṇḍala consists of four layers (puṭa) consisting of concentric circles (cakra, totally one lotus at the center and 12 concentric circles, that is, 13 circles in total).

The vākcakra contains 36 pairs of Ḍākinī and Hero, collectively called word Heruka (vāgheruka):

  1. Pūjā & Pūjācinta,
  2. Bhakṣā & Bhakṣacinta,
  3. Nidrā & Nidrācinta,
  4. Ālasyā & Ālasyacinta,
  5. Dharmacintā & Dharmacinta,
  6. Bhāvanā & Bhāvanācinta,
  7. Gṛhacintā & Gṛhacinta,
  8. Strīcintā & Strīcinta,
  9. Arthacintā & Arthacinta,
  10. Viyogikā & Viyogacinta,
  11. Putracintā & Putracinta,
  12. Śokā & Śokacinta,
  13. Dhyānā & Dhyānacinta,
  14. Mantrajāpikā & Mantrajapacinta,
  15. Hrīkā & Hrīcinta,
  16. Māna & Mānacinta,
  17. Saṃtāpā & Saṃtāpacinta,
  18. Sattvārthakaruṇodyamā & Sattvārthakaruṇodyamacinta,
  19. Rājacintā & Rājacinta,
  20. Paradrohā & Paradrohacinta,
  21. Jñānalābhā & Jñānalābhacinta,
  22. Tapasvinī & Tapasvicinta,
  23. Jarā & Jaracinta,
  24. Maraṇacintā & Maraṇacinta,
  25. Sukhā & Sukhacinta,
  26. Duḥkhā & Duḥkhacinta,
  27. Aśubhā & Śubhacinta,
  28. Astikā & Asticinta,
  29. Nāstikā & Nāsticinta,
  30. Gurucintā & Gurucinta,
  31. Gamanikā & Gamanacinta,
  32. Kṣamā & Kṣemacinta,
  33. Akṣamā & Akṣemacinta,
  34. Śrāntā & Śrāntacinta,
  35. Viśrāntā & Viśrāntacinta,
  36. Bubhukṣitā & Bubhukṣitacinta,

They are reddish madder in color; they each have one face and four arms; they hold a skull bowl, a skull staff, a small drum, and a knife.

Source: MDPI Books: The Ocean of Heroes

Vākcakra (वाक्चक्र) refers to the “speech circle”, according to the 10th-century Ḍākārṇava-tantra: one of the last Tibetan Tantric scriptures belonging to the Buddhist Saṃvara tradition consisting of 51 chapters.—Accordingly: “Now, outside is another [circle], the Speech Circle (vākcakra). That is explained. [It is] madder-like red in color, consists of thirty-six spokes, and is powerful. [The Yoginīs are]—[...]  [Every] goddess is effective in all rituals. This circle is great in nature. [The color of the goddesses’ bodies is] declared to be [the same as] the color of their circle. Here, the rest is as before. [...]”.

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of vakcakra in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: