Vaimanika, aka: Vaimānika; 8 Definition(s)


Vaimanika means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Jainism, Prakrit, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism


Vaimanika in Purana glossary... « previous · [V] · next »

Vaimānika (वैमानिक).—A holy place. Mention is made in Mahābhārata, Anuśāsana Parva, Chapter 25, Stanza 23, that those who bathe in this holy place could freely walk about in the world of the celestial maids.

Source: Puranic Encyclopaedia

Vaimānika (वैमानिक).—Gods like Ādityas, Visvedevas, Sādhyas, Pitṛs, sages like Angiras and so on at the beginning of dāhakala;1 residents of tāra and gṛhas;2 at the commencement of Pralaya spring forth these gods, with planets and stars, with no social restrictions of caste or orders; went to Maharloka, Janaloka and lastly to Brahmaloka never to come back; appointed by the creator in different stations.3

  • 1) Brahmāṇḍa-purāṇa IV. 2. 29; Vāyu-purāṇa 7. 15.
  • 2) Vāyu-purāṇa 101. 31.
  • 3) Brahmāṇḍa-purāṇa II. 6. 16, 21.
Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: The Purana Index
Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of vaimanika in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

Vaimanika in Jainism glossary... « previous · [V] · next »

Vaimānika (वैमानिक).—The Vaimānika gods and goddesses live in the various Kalpa and Kalpātīta heavens, noted in the outline of Jaina cosmography. The Prajñāpanā gives symbols of the crowns of the different classes of gods.

  1. Saudharma,
  2. Īśāna,
  3. Sanatkumāra,
  4. Māhendra,
  5. Brahmaloka,
  6. Lāntaka,
  7. Mahāśukra,
  8. Sahasrāra,
  9. Ānata,
  10. Prāṇata,
  11. Āraṇa,
  12. Acyuta.
Source: Google Books: Jaina Iconography

Vaimānika (वैमानिक).—One of the four species of devas (gods).—The Vaimānikas are divided into 2 chief classes: Kalpopannas (inhabitants of kalpas) and Kalpātītas (kalpa-less). Kalpa means abode of the gods.

Source: Google Books: The Doctrine of Karman in Jain Philosophy

Vaimānika (वैमानिक).—On the other side of the middle world (madhya-loka), the realm extends the third categories of divinities, that of the ‘gods of light’ (jyotikas). The fourth category, the vaimānikas normally live in the paradise or twelve levels (kalpas) of the upper world which is symbolizes by an animal, antelope, buffalo, boar, lion, goat, leopard, horse, elephant, snake, rhinoceros, bull and a type of antelope. Occasionally its member passes from one part of the world to another.

Source: Shodhganga: A cultural study on the jain western Indian illustrated manuscripts

Vaimānika (वैमानिक) refers to “empyrean (heavenly) celestial beings” and represents one of the four classes of Devas, according to the 2nd-century Tattvārthasūtra 4.3. Who are the empyrean gods (vaimānika)? The abodes, which make the beings residing in them feel as possessing merit are called vimāna. The living beings residing in them are called the empyrean gods. What are the peculiarities of the heavenly beings?The most significant peculiarity of heavenly beings is they attain liberation minimum in two births (dvicarama), the first as heavenly and the second as human beings.

How many kinds of heavenly beings (vaimānika) are there? There are two kinds, namely: those born in the heavens (kalpopapanna) and those born beyond heavens (kalpātīta). The heavenly beings born in the sixteen heavens/kalpas are called kalpopapanna. The living beings born in the space above (or beyond) the sixteen heavens/kalpas are called kalpātīta.

The heavenly celestial beings (vaimānika) have sixteen subclasses namely:

  1. Saudharma,
  2. Īśāna,
  3. Sanatkumāra,
  4. Māhendra,
  5. Brahma,
  6. Brahmottara,
  7. Lāntava,
  8. Kāpiṣṭha,
  9. Śukra,
  10. Mahāśukra,
  11. Śatāra,
  12. Sahasrāra,
  13. Ānata,
  14. Prāṇata,
  15. Āraṇa,
  16. Acyuta.
Source: Encyclopedia of Jainism: Tattvartha Sutra 4: The celestial beings (deva)
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of vaimanika in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

Vaimanika in Marathi glossary... « previous · [V] · next »

vaimānika (वैमानिक).—m An aeronaut.

Source: DDSA: The Aryabhusan school dictionary, Marathi-English
context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Discover the meaning of vaimanika in the context of Marathi from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 80 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Vaimanika Shastra
The Vaimānika Shāstra is an early 20th-century Sanskrit text on aeronautics, obtained allege...
1) Vijaya (विजय) is the name of a sacred mountain range in Kaśmīra, according to in the Kathāsa...
Mahendra (महेन्द्र) participated in the war between Rāma and Rāvaṇa, on the side of the latter,...
Sudarśana (सुदर्शन) is the name of a gambler from Viyogapura, according to the Kathāsaritsāgara...
Brāhma (ब्राह्म) or Brāhmāgama refers to one of upāgamas (supplementary scriptures) of the Aṃśu...
Aparājitā (अपराजिता) in Sanskrit, Hindi and Bangali, is another name for Aśvakṣurā, a medicinal...
1) Deva (देव) or Devāyu refers to “heavenly/celestial realms or states of existence” and r...
1) Śukra (शुक्र).—(ŚUKRĀCĀRYA) I. Preceptor of the Asuras. Birth. Views differ as to whether Śu...
Āditya (आदित्य) refers to a group of deities that was once worshipped in ancient Kashmir (Kaśmī...
Subhadra (सुभद्र).—To the west of Kuśinagara, not far off, is a stūpa. This is where Subhadra (...
Jayanta (जयन्त) is the name of Indra’s son, according to the Kathāsaritsāgara, chapter 121. Acc...
1) Saumya (सौम्य) is another name for Svarṇajīvantī, a plant similar to Jīvantī, a medicinal pl...
Acyuta (अच्युत) is the name of a deity who received the Ajitāgama from Umeśa who in turn, recei...
Sanatkumāra (सनत्कुमार) or Sanatkumārasaṃhitā is the name of a Vaiṣṇava Āgama scripture, classi...
Anantā (अनन्ता) refers to “earth” and is mentioned in a list of 53 synonyms for dharaṇi (“earth...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: