Tyaganusmriti, Tyāgānusmṛti, Tyaga-anusmriti: 2 definitions



Tyaganusmriti means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Tyāgānusmṛti can be transliterated into English as Tyaganusmrti or Tyaganusmriti, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Buddhism

Mahayana (major branch of Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Tyaganusmriti in Mahayana glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

Tyāgānusmṛti (त्यागानुस्मृति) refers to the “recollection of abandonment” and represents one of the Anusmṛti (eight recollections), according to the 2nd century Mahāprajñāpāramitāśāstra chapter 36.—Accordingly, “to destroy, to reject all the afflicting emotions from the three fetters (saṃyojana) up to the ninety-eight latent tendencies (anuśaya) is called ‘abandonment’ (tyāga). By recollecting the rejection of these things as one rejects venomous snakes (āśīviṣa) or like shackles, one acquires salvation (yogakṣema) and joy (prāmodya). Furthermore, recollection of the abandoning of the disturbing emotions (kleśa-tyāgānusmṛti) also enters into recollection of the Dharma (dharmānusmṛti)”.

Mahayana book cover
context information

Mahayana (महायान, mahāyāna) is a major branch of Buddhism focusing on the path of a Bodhisattva (spiritual aspirants/ enlightened beings). Extant literature is vast and primarely composed in the Sanskrit language. There are many sūtras of which some of the earliest are the various Prajñāpāramitā sūtras.

Discover the meaning of tyaganusmriti or tyaganusmrti in the context of Mahayana from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Tyaganusmriti in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Tyāgānusmṛti (त्यागानुस्मृति) or simply Tyāga refers to the “recollection of the Buddha” and represents one of the “six recollections” (anusmṛti) as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 54). The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., tyāga-anusmṛti). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: