Twelve Sense Spheres; 1 Definition(s)


Twelve Sense Spheres means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Twelve Sense Spheres in Buddhism glossary... « previous · [T] · next »

Twelve Sense Spheres:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit āyatana defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 24):

  1. Eye (cakṣus),
  2. Ear (śrotra),
  3. Nose (ghrāṇa),
  4. Tongue (jihvā),
  5. Body (kāya),
  6. Mind (manas),
  7. Form (rūpa),
  8. Smell (gandha),
  9. Sound (śabda),
  10. Taste (rasa),
  11. Tangible (sparśa),
  12. Thought (dharma).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., āyatana, ‘twelve sense spheres’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Relevant definitions

Search found 5385 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

1) Rasa (sentiment) or Navarasa is defined in the the first book of the Pañcamarapu (‘five-fold...
Rūpa.—(HRS), according to the Arthaśāstra, (1) a subsidiary charge in excess of the prescribed ...
Bhāva (भाव) refers to the “psychological states of the mind” as used within the classical tradi...
Sense Doors
Summarizing the cittas which perform their function in a sense door process and then in a the m...
Twelve Governors
According to the 'Pistis Sophia', there are twelve governors in the 'outer darkness' governi...
Six Spheres
Six Spheres:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit ṣaḍviṣaya def...
Sense Reaction
sense-: s. patigha.
Sense Stimuli
corporeality responding to: s. āyatana.
Immaterial Sphere
arūpāvacara: cf. avacara, jhāna (5-8); Tab. I.
Sensuous Sphere
(-world): s. avacara, loka.
Artha.—(IE 7-1-2), ‘five’, (CII 1), a cause or matter. (CII 1), business. Note: artha is define...
Kāma (काम, “love”) is accomplished by performing mantrasādhana (preparatory procedures) beginni...
Twelve Pure Practices
Twelve Pure Practices:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit dhū...
Twelve Ascetic Virtues
Twelve Ascetic Virtues:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit dh...
Twelve Strict Observances
Twelve Strict Observances:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: