Trishakuni, Triśakuni, Triśakunī: 3 definitions


Trishakuni means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit terms Triśakuni and Triśakunī can be transliterated into English as Trisakuni or Trishakuni, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: Wisdomlib Libary: Vajrayogini

Triśakuni (त्रिशकुनि) is the name of a sacred site (pīṭha) presided over by Vāyuvegā, according to the vārāhyabhyudaya-maṇḍala. Vāyuvegā is a deity situated in one of the six petals of the northern lotus, of which the presiding deity is kuleśvarī (presiding lady) named Locanā. The central deity of the vārāhyabhyudaya-maṇḍala is the twelve-armed Vajravarāhī.

Triśakuni is one of the twenty-four pīṭhas, or ‘sacred-site’ (six lotuses each having six petals), each corresponding with a part of the human body. Triśakuni is to be contemplated as situated in the navel. Besides being associated with a bodily spot, each pīṭha represents an actual place of ancient India frequented particularly by advanced tantric practitioners

Source: A Critical Study of the Vajraḍākamahātantrarāja (II)

Triśakuni (त्रिशकुनि) is one of the two Upakṣetra (‘sacred spot’) present within the Vākcakra (‘circle of word’) which is associated with the Ḍākinī named Bhūcarī (‘a woman going on the ground’), according to the 9th-centruy Vajraḍākatantra. Vākcakra is one of three Cakras within the Tricakra system which embodies twenty-four sacred spots or districts (viz., Triśakuni) resided over by twenty-four ‘sacred girls’ (ḍākinīs) whose husbands abide in one’s body in the form of twenty-four ingredients (dhātu) of one’s body.

Triśakuni has the presiding Ḍākinī named Vāyuvegā whose husband, or hero (vīra) is named Mahāvīra. The associated internal location are the ‘navel’ and the bodily ingredients (dhātu) are the ‘lungs’. According to the Vajraḍākavivṛti, the districts Kulatā, Maru, Pretapurī and Triśakuni are associated with the family deity of Vārāhī; while in the Abhidhānottarottaratantra there is the Ḍāka deity named Ratnaḍāka standing in the center of the districts named Kāmarūpa, Triśakuni, Oḍra and Kosala.

Source: Holy Sites in Buddhist Saṃvara Cycle

Triśakunī (त्रिशकुनी) refers to one of the sixty-four inner channels running through the nirmāṇacakra, according to the 10th century Ḍākārṇava chapter 15. Nirmāṇacakra is an inner circle of the shape of a lotus with sixty-four petals. This inner circle is visualized in one’s abdomen. The inner channels [viz., Triśakunī] run through the petals of these inner circles.

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of trishakuni or trisakuni in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: