Ten Wrathful Ones: 1 definition



Ten Wrathful Ones means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Ten Wrathful Ones in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Ten Wrathful Ones:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit daśakrodha defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 11):

  1. Yamāntaka,
  2. Prajñāntaka,
  3. Padmāntaka,
  4. Vighnāntaka,
  5. Acara,
  6. Ṭarkirāja,
  7. Nīladaṇḍa,
  8. Mahābala,
  9. Uṣṇīṣacakravartī,
  10. Sambharāja.

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., daśakrodha, ‘ten wrathful ones’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: