Ten Masteries: 1 definition


Ten Masteries means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Ten Masteries in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Ten Masteries of the Bodhisattvas:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit vaśitā defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 74).

  1. Mastery of life (āyur-vaśitā),
  2. Mastery of mind (citta-vaśitā),
  3. Mastery of discipline (pariṣkāra-vaśitā),
  4. Mastery of dharma (dharma-vaśita),
  5. Mastery of spiritual power (ṛddhi-vaśitā),
  6. Mastery of birth (janma-vaśitā),
  7. Mastery of resolution (adhimukti-vaśitā),
  8. Mastery of aspiration (praṇidhāna-vaśitā),
  9. Mastery of deeds (karma-vaśitā),
  10. Mastery of knowledge (jñāna-vaśitā).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., ‘ten masteries of the bodhisattvas’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: