Six Devalokas; 1 Definition(s)


Six Devalokas means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Six Devalokas in Buddhism glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

According to the tradition preserved in the Abhidharmakosha of Vasubandhu (3 cen. CE), the standard Abhidharma and cosmological terxt studied in Tibet, there exist six Devalokas, or levels of the astral plane, inhabited by the Devas or gods:

  1. Chatur-maharajika,
  2. Trayatrimsha,
  3. Yama,
  4. Tushita,
  5. Nirmanarati,
  6. and Paranirmitavashavartin.

These six Devalokas, comprising the divine part of the Kamadhatu, are depicted as heaven-worlds and celestial paradises.

Source: Google Books: The Golden Letters

Relevant definitions

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: