Shadguna, aka: Ṣaḍguṇa, Sadguna, Shash-guna, Sat-guna; 6 Definition(s)


Shadguna means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Ṣaḍguṇa can be transliterated into English as Sadguna or Shadguna, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Hinduism

Pancaratra (worship of Nārāyaṇa)

During the first phase of the manifestation of the universe (Śuddha-sṛṣṭi), the six attributes of the Supreme Being make their appearance. These six attributes together form the "body" of the Supreme Being who gets the name vāsudeva thereby.

  1. jñānam,
  2. aiśvarya,
  3. Śakti,
  4. bala,
  5. vīrya,
  6. tejas.

In their totality these six qualities form the "body" of the Highest Being—God Vāsudeva and His consort Lakṣmī. (ṣaḍguṇa-vigraham-devam). The Pancarātra teaches a chain of other emanations proceeding from these six qualities, each oneoriginating from the one before, just as one flame proceeds from another flame. The primary emanations are known as Vyūha

Source: SriMatham: Vaiṣṇava Iconology based on Pañcarātra Āgama
Pancaratra book cover
context information

Pancaratra (पाञ्चरात्र, pāñcarātra) represents a tradition of Hinduism where Narayana is revered and worshipped. Closeley related to Vaishnavism, the Pancaratra literature includes various Agamas and tantras incorporating many Vaishnava philosophies.

Discover the meaning of shadguna or sadguna in the context of Pancaratra from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

Shadguna in Marathi glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

sadguṇa (सद्गुण).—m (S) A good quality, affection, or property.

Source: DDSA: The Molesworth Marathi and English Dictionary

ṣaḍguṇa (षड्गुण).—m pl The six attributes (of God). The six properties, functions of rājanīti &c. ṣaḍguṇaiśvaryasampanna Perfect with the majesty of the six attributes-used of the deity &c.; a saint.

Source: DDSA: The Aryabhusan school dictionary, Marathi-English
context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Discover the meaning of shadguna or sadguna in the context of Marathi from relevant books on Exotic India

Sanskrit-English dictionary

Shadguna in Sanskrit glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

Ṣaḍguṇa (षड्गुण).—a. (-ṣaḍguṇa) 1 sixfold.

2) having six attributes. (-ṇam) 1 an assemblage of six qualities.

2) the six expedients to be used by a king in foreign politics; see under गुण (guṇa) (21); cf. षाड्गुण्य (ṣāḍguṇya) also.

Ṣaḍguṇa is a Sanskrit compound consisting of the terms ṣaṣ and guṇa (गुण).

--- OR ---

Sadguṇa (सद्गुण).—a. (sadguṇa) possessed of good qualities, virtuous,

-ṇaḥ virtue, excellence, goodness, good quality.

Sadguṇa is a Sanskrit compound consisting of the terms sat and guṇa (गुण).

Source: DDSA: The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary

Ṣaḍguṇa (षड्गुण).—mfn.

(-ṇaḥ-ṇā-ṇaṃ) Six-fold, six times. n.

(-ṇaṃ) An assemblage, of six qualities or properties. mf.

(-ṇaḥ-ṇā) The six acts of a king in his military character, viz. “sandhi” alliance, “vigraha” war, “yāna” march, “sthāna” halt, “āsana” strategem, and “dvaidhībhāva” aid of other kings. E. ṣaṣ and guṇa a time.

--- OR ---

Sadguṇa (सद्गुण).—mfn.

(-ṇaḥ-ṇā-ṇaṃ) 1. Good, pure, virtuous. 2. Excellent, eminent. E. sat, guṇa quality.

Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: Shabda-Sagara Sanskrit-English Dictionary
context information

Sanskrit, also spelled संस्कृतम् (saṃskṛtam), is an ancient language of India commonly seen as the grandmother of the Indo-European language family. Closely allied with Prakrit and Pali, Sanskrit is more exhaustive in both grammar and terms and has the most extensive collection of literature in the world, greatly surpassing its sister-languages Greek and Latin.

Discover the meaning of shadguna or sadguna in the context of Sanskrit from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 4926 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Guṇa (गुण).—m. (-ṇaḥ) 1. A quality, attribute, or property in general. 2. A property of all cre...
Maśa (मश).—m. (-śaḥ) 1. Anger. 2. Sounding. 3. A musquito. E. maśa to sound, &c., ac aff.--...
Vasā (वसा, “suint”) refers to one of the thirty-substances of the human body according to the V...
Śa (श).—The thirtieth consonant of the Nagari alphabet and first of the three sibilants; it is ...
Śaṭ (शट्).—r. 1st cl. (śaṭati) 1. To be diseased or sick. 2. To divide, to pierce or separate. ...
Śatāra (शतार).—n. (-raṃ) The thunderbolt. E. śata a hundred, ṛ to go, aff. aṇ .
Samula (समुल).—m., a high number: Gv 133.24 (first saṃ-mulaḥ, by error, repeated twice as samul...
Guṇāḍhya (गुणाढ्य).—He is the author of the celebrated Bṛhatkathā which is a precious mine of S...
Guṇakāra (गुणकार).—mfn. (-raḥ-rī-raṃ) Who counts, &c. m. (-raḥ) A name of Bhimasena E. guṇa...
Guṇagāna (गुणगान).—n. (-naṃ) Panegyric, praise. E. guṇa, and gāna singing.
Tri-guṇa.—(IE 7-1-2), ‘three’. Note: tri-guṇa is defined in the “Indian epigraphical glossary” ...
Kāmaguṇa (कामगुण).—m. (-ṇaḥ) 1. Passion, affection. 2. An object of sense. 3. Completion, satie...
Satkṛti (सत्कृति).—f. (-tiḥ) 1. Doing good, acting properly, virtue, morality, &c. 2. Treat...
Ṣaḍrasa (षड्रस) refers to “six flavours”, as defined in the Śivapurāṇa 1.14. Accordingly, “[......
Ṣaṇmukha (or Sanmukhan) is the name of deity as found depicted in the Subramanya Swamy Temple (...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: