Seven Title Classification: 1 definition



Seven Title Classification means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Seven Title Classification in Buddhism glossary
Source: Buddhist Door: GlossarySutra titles fall into seven classes accordingly to their reference to person, Dharma and analogy. 1. Three Single 1. Solely by reference to people e.g. the Amitabha Sutra 2. Solely by reference to Dharma e.g. the Mahaparinirvana Sutra 3. Solely by analogy e.g. The Brahma Net Sutra 2. Three Paired 4. By reference to a person and a Dharma e.g. The Sutra of the Questions of Manjushri 5. By reference to a person and an analogy e.g. The Sutra of the Lions Roar of the Thus Come One 6. By reference to a Dharma and an analogy. e.g. The Wonderful Dharma Lotus Flower Sutra. 3. Three in one 7. By reference to person, Dharma and analogy together e.g. The Great Universal Buddha Flower Adornment Sutra

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: