Seven Jewels; 1 Definition(s)


Seven Jewels means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Seven Jewels in Buddhism glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

Seven Jewels:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit saptaratna defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 85):

  1. The wheel jewel (cakra-ratna),
  2. The horse jewel (aśva-ratna),
  3. The elephant jewel (hasti-ratna),
  4. The gem jewel (maṇi-ratna),
  5. The woman jewel (strī-ratna),
  6. The rhinoceros jewel (khaṅga-ratna),
  7. The advisor jewel (pariṇāyaka-ratna).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., ‘seven jewels’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Relevant definitions

Search found 4034 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Seven Buddhas
Seven Buddhas:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit saptatathāg...
Seven Grounds
According to Jainism, there are seven hells (or naraka's), and they are placed in the seven gro...
Jewel-Born Buddha
Jewel-Born Buddha refers to Ratnasambhava:—A technical term in Buddhism representing one o...
Seven Oceans
Seven Oceans:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit sāgara ...
Seven Gems
They are gold, silver, lapis lazuli, crystal, mother of pearl, red pearls and carnelian.
Seven Treasures
the 7: s. dhana.
Seven Universals
See 'Sabbacitta Sadharana';
Seven Supreme Offerings
Seven Supreme Offerings:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit s...
Seven Lower Regions
Seven Lower Regions:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit saṃsk...
Seven Title Classification
Sutra titles fall into seven classes accordingly to their reference to person, Dharma and analo...
Seven Leaves Cave
Saptaparna guha in Sanskrit, Sattapanna guba in Pali. The site of the First Buddhist Council, n...
1) Ratna (रत्न) refers to “gems”, representing a type of material for construction of a Liṅga, ...
Jambu-dvīpa or Jambū-dvīpa.—(CII 1), used in the sense of ‘the earth’ or the dominions of the M...
Seven Factors of Awakening
Seven Factors of Awakening:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskri...
Seven Inseparable Mental Factors
the 7 i. m. f. in all consciousness: s. cetanā, phassa, nāma.

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: