Saptavidhanuttarapuja, Saptavidhānuttarapūjā, Saptavidha-anuttarapuja: 2 definitions



Saptavidhanuttarapuja means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Saptavidhanuttarapuja in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Saptavidhānuttarapūjā (सप्तविधानुत्तरपूजा) or simply anuttarapūjā refers to the “seven supreme offerings” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 14):

  1. vandanā (worshipping),
  2. pūjanā (honouring),
  3. pāpadeśanā (confessing faults),
  4. anumodanā (rejoicing),
  5. adhyeṣaṇā (requesting instruction),
  6. bodhicittotpāda (the generating of a mind set on Awakening),
  7. pariṇāmanā (developing (that mind)),

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., saptavidhā-anuttarapūjā). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Source: Google Books: Esoteric Buddhism and the Tantras in East Asia

Saptavidhānuttarapūjā (सप्तविधानुत्तरपूजा) refers to the “sevenfold supreme worship”. Pūjā constitutes one of the most enduring organizing principles of Indian ritual: the offering of a gift—“the gesture of making an offering to a deity or esteemed person and in return receiving a blessing”.

The seven elements of the saptavidhā-anuttarapūjā are:

  1. praise (vandanā),
  2. worship (pūjanā),
  3. confession (deśanā),
  4. rejoicing (modanā),
  5. requesting the teaching (adhyeṣaṇā),
  6. begging the buddhas to remain (yācanā),
  7. transfer of merit (nāmanā).

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: